Private Nonprofit Certificate Strong 74/100

Word of Life Bible Institute

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Pottersville, New York

About Word of Life Bible Institute

Thinking about Word of Life Bible Institute, a college in New York where more students graduate in Theology than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Word of Life Bible Institute is a private nonprofit institution offering certificate degrees based in Pottersville, New York. It enrolls 489 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
34.2%
Net Price
$14,516
Median Earnings (10yr)
$36,173
Enrollment
489
Student : Faculty
26:1

Accreditor Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
74/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 89
Value 35
Affordability 50
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Word of Life Bible Institute admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $14,516 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$14,516
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
45%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
43%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$11,500
Room & Board (on-campus)
$10,800
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,800
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$22,600

Application fee: $10 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $12,632
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $12,966
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $14,683
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,486
  • Over $110,000
    $17,626

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$12,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,500 ↓ $6,500
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,500
Female students $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Male students $5,500 ↓ $6,500
Pell recipients: 14.9% (1,784 students)No Pell: 14.9% (1,784 students)Dependent students: 14.9% (1,784 students)Independent students: 25.7% (3,081 students)Female students: 14.9% (1,784 students)Male students: 14.9% (1,784 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

34% of students who start here finish within six years, and 81% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
34%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
81%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,173 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,173
Earning > $25K
62%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$29,000$31,000$33,000$35,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$23,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$40,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$30,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$32,200

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$34,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $17,700, about 43% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 15.4 pts across 6 years
68.4%1yr69.9%3yr72.2%5yr83.8%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 84% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 489 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
489
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
23%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 69.3% 339
Hispanic 9.4% 46
International 9.4% 46
Black 3.1% 15
Asian 2.0% 10
Other 1.6% 8
White: 69.3% (339 students)Hispanic: 9.4% (46 students)International: 9.4% (46 students)Black: 3.1% (15 students)Asian: 2.0% (10 students)Other: 1.6% (8 students)Total489

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Word of Life Bible Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Distant Pottersville, New York
Housing
Strongly residential 796 beds for 489 students
Adult Learners
3% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

Word of Life Bible Institute offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 26 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
26:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Word of Life Bible Institute

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Word of Life Bible Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Word of Life Bible Institute is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Word of Life Bible Institute

The questions families ask most about Word of Life Bible Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Word of Life Bible Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Word of Life Bible Institute admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Word of Life Bible Institute?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Word of Life Bible Institute cost?
Budget around $14,516 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Word of Life Bible Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,173 a year against a net price of $14,516, about 2.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Word of Life Bible Institute known for?
Mostly Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Word of Life Bible Institute graduates earn?
About $36,173 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Word of Life Bible Institute accredited?
Yes. Word of Life Bible Institute is accredited by the Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools.
How many students attend Word of Life Bible Institute?
489 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Word of Life Bible Institute?
34% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Word of Life Bible Institute a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Word of Life Bible Institute located?
Word of Life Bible Institute is located in Pottersville, New York.
What programs does Word of Life Bible Institute offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Word of Life Bible Institute?
26 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.