Private For-Profit Certificate Good 62/100

American Institute-Somerset

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Somerset, New Jersey

About American Institute-Somerset

Thinking about American Institute-Somerset, a college in New Jersey where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

American Institute-Somerset is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Somerset, New Jersey. It enrolls 364 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
58.6%
Net Price
$20,464
Median Earnings (10yr)
$28,710
Enrollment
364
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic Calendar Differs by Program

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 60
Value 13
Affordability 60
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, American Institute-Somerset admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,464 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,464
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
76%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
83%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $19,924
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $20,652
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,371
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $22,566

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,982
25% percentile
$11,979
Median percentile
$11,206
75% percentile
$13,300
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,211 ↓ $2,768
No Pell $10,450 ↓ $1,529
Dependent students $8,483 ↓ $3,496
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $2,479
Female students $9,500 ↓ $2,479
Male students $7,600 ↓ $4,379
Pell recipients: 16.8% (2,016 students)No Pell: 19.1% (2,287 students)Dependent students: 15.5% (1,856 students)Independent students: 17.4% (2,079 students)Female students: 17.4% (2,079 students)Male students: 13.9% (1,663 students)Overall Median$11,979
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,490, less than completers ($11,979), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

59% of students who start here finish within six years, and 68% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
59%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
68%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $28,710 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$28,710
Earning > $25K
49%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$25,000$26,000$27,000$28,500$29,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$26,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$32,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $5,700, about 18% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 11.7 pts across 6 years
26.2%1yr30.2%3yr40.1%5yr37.9%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 38% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 364 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 67% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
364
Part-Time
39%
First-Generation
67%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 52.2% 190
Black 27.8% 101
White 15.9% 58
Asian 1.9% 7
Other 1.9% 7
Hispanic: 52.2% (190 students)Black: 27.8% (101 students)White: 15.9% (58 students)Asian: 1.9% (7 students)Other: 1.9% (7 students)Total364

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at American Institute-Somerset. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Somerset, New Jersey
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
39% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Differs by Program scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

American Institute-Somerset offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of American Institute-Somerset

No college is right for everyone. Here is where American Institute-Somerset is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, American Institute-Somerset is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about American Institute-Somerset

The questions families ask most about American Institute-Somerset, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is American Institute-Somerset hard to get into?
Not especially. American Institute-Somerset admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at American Institute-Somerset?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does American Institute-Somerset cost?
Budget around $20,464 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is American Institute-Somerset worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $28,710 a year against a net price of $20,464, about 1.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is American Institute-Somerset known for?
Mostly Medical Assisting, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do American Institute-Somerset graduates earn?
About $28,710 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is American Institute-Somerset accredited?
Yes. American Institute-Somerset is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend American Institute-Somerset?
364 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at American Institute-Somerset?
59% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is American Institute-Somerset a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is American Institute-Somerset located?
American Institute-Somerset is located in Somerset, New Jersey.
What programs does American Institute-Somerset offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Medical Assisting, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at American Institute-Somerset?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.