Private Nonprofit Associate Good 61/100

ASPIRA City College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

About ASPIRA City College

Thinking about ASPIRA City College, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

ASPIRA City College is a private nonprofit institution offering associate degrees based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 8 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
50%
Graduation
31.9%
Net Price
$13,671
Median Earnings (10yr)
$34,857
Enrollment
8
Student : Faculty
5:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Trimester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 36
Value 35
Affordability 67
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

ASPIRA City College admits 50% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
50%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether ASPIRA City College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

100%2021100%2022100%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $13,671 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$13,671
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
79%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
50%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$12,147
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,080
Books & Supplies
$1,203
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,156
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,252

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,500
25% percentile
$10,313
75% percentile
What this means: Aid reaches the majority of students: 79% receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the actual cost to you is likely far below the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

32% of students who start here finish within six years, and 56% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
32%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
56%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,857 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,857
Earning > $25K
55%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$20,000$24,000$28,000$33,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$19,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$26,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,700, about 25% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 10.5 pts across 6 years
21.1%1yr24.3%3yr28.7%5yr31.5%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 32% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 8 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 58% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
8
Part-Time
25%
First-Generation
58%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 100.0% 8
Hispanic: 100.0% (8 students)Total8

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at ASPIRA City College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
36% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Trimester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

ASPIRA City College offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 5 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
5:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$39,267
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of ASPIRA City College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where ASPIRA City College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, ASPIRA City College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about ASPIRA City College

The questions families ask most about ASPIRA City College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is ASPIRA City College hard to get into?
Admissions at ASPIRA City College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 50%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at ASPIRA City College?
50% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does ASPIRA City College cost?
Budget around $13,671 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is ASPIRA City College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,857 a year against a net price of $13,671, about 2.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is ASPIRA City College known for?
Mostly Health Administration, Computer Engineering Tech. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do ASPIRA City College graduates earn?
About $34,857 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is ASPIRA City College accredited?
Yes. ASPIRA City College is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend ASPIRA City College?
8 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at ASPIRA City College?
32% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is ASPIRA City College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is ASPIRA City College located?
ASPIRA City College is located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
What programs does ASPIRA City College offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Health Administration, Computer Engineering Tech. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at ASPIRA City College?
5 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.