Private For-Profit Associate Strong 80/100

Laurel Technical Institute

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Hermitage, Pennsylvania

About Laurel Technical Institute

Thinking about Laurel Technical Institute, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Laurel Technical Institute is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Hermitage, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 163 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
85.3%
Graduation
55%
Net Price
$6,778
Median Earnings (10yr)
$28,311
Enrollment
163
Student : Faculty
10:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
80/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 80
Value 57
Affordability 77
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Laurel Technical Institute admits 85.3% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
85.3%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Laurel Technical Institute is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 1.4 pts since 2019
91.9%201994.3%202096.7%202195.2%202293.3%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,778 a year on average, it sits well below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,778
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
61%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
82%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$13,431
Room & Board (off-campus)
$3,240
Books & Supplies
$1,324
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,280
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,270

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,533
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $5,157
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,645
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,051
  • Over $110,000
    $8,940

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$10,706
Median percentile
$14,750
75% percentile
$20,418
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,379 ↓ $1,327
No Pell $8,885 ↓ $1,821
Dependent students $8,750 ↓ $1,956
Independent students $10,585 ↓ $121
Female students $8,990 ↓ $1,716
Male students $11,484 ↑ $778
Pell recipients: 16.2% (1,729 students)No Pell: 15.3% (1,638 students)Dependent students: 15.1% (1,613 students)Independent students: 18.2% (1,951 students)Female students: 15.5% (1,657 students)Male students: 19.8% (2,117 students)Overall Median$10,706
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,980, less than completers ($10,706), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

55% of students who start here finish within six years, and 75% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
55%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
75%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $28,311 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$28,311
Earning > $25K
47%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$24,000$25,000$27,000$28,000$29,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↓ 0.8 pts across 6 years
46.3%1yr48%3yr50%5yr45.5%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 45% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 163 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 62% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
163
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
62%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 78.5% 128
Black 14.7% 24
Other 3.7% 6
Hispanic 1.2% 2
Asian 0.6% 1
White: 78.5% (128 students)Black: 14.7% (24 students)Other: 3.7% (6 students)Hispanic: 1.2% (2 students)Asian: 0.6% (1 students)Total163

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Laurel Technical Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
24% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Personal Services graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Laurel Technical Institute offers a focused set of programs: 8 distinct programs across 5 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 10 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
10:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$51,873
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

17 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 17 100% $51,873

Pros & Cons of Laurel Technical Institute

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Laurel Technical Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Laurel Technical Institute is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Laurel Technical Institute

The questions families ask most about Laurel Technical Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Laurel Technical Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Laurel Technical Institute admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 85.3%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Laurel Technical Institute?
85.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Laurel Technical Institute cost?
Budget around $6,778 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Laurel Technical Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $28,311 a year against a net price of $6,778, about 4.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Laurel Technical Institute known for?
Mostly Medical Assisting, Cosmetology, Clinical/Medical Laboratory. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Laurel Technical Institute graduates earn?
About $28,311 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Laurel Technical Institute accredited?
Yes. Laurel Technical Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Laurel Technical Institute?
163 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Laurel Technical Institute?
55% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Laurel Technical Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Laurel Technical Institute located?
Laurel Technical Institute is located in Hermitage, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Laurel Technical Institute offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Medical Assisting, Cosmetology, Clinical/Medical Laboratory. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Laurel Technical Institute?
10 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.