Private For-Profit Certificate Good 67/100

Bellus Academy-Chula Vista

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Chula Vista, California

About Bellus Academy-Chula Vista

Thinking about Bellus Academy-Chula Vista, a college in California where more students graduate in Personal Services than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Bellus Academy-Chula Vista is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Chula Vista, California. It enrolls 341 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
73.8%
Net Price
$20,738
Median Earnings (10yr)
$23,576
Enrollment
341
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
67/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 84
Value 6
Affordability 53
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Bellus Academy-Chula Vista admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,738 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,738
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
61%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
59%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $20,635
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $22,949
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $20,159

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,519
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$7,917
Median percentile
$15,639
75% percentile
$18,970
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,333 ↓ $1,584
No Pell $6,333 ↓ $1,584
Dependent students $5,513 ↓ $2,404
Independent students $6,333 ↓ $1,584
Female students $6,333 ↓ $1,584
Male students $10,599 ↑ $2,682
Pell recipients: 15.3% (1,210 students)No Pell: 15.3% (1,210 students)Dependent students: 13.3% (1,053 students)Independent students: 15.3% (1,210 students)Female students: 15.3% (1,210 students)Male students: 25.6% (2,025 students)Overall Median$7,917
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,603, less than completers ($7,917), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

74% of students who start here finish within six years, and 83% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
74%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
83%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $23,576 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$23,576
Earning > $25K
44%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$19,000$20,000$21,000$23,000$24,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 22.8 pts across 6 years
25.4%3yr26.5%5yr48.1%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 48% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 341 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
341
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 66.9% 228
Black 9.7% 33
Other 9.1% 31
White 7.9% 27
Asian 5.9% 20
Hispanic: 66.9% (228 students)Black: 9.7% (33 students)Other: 9.1% (31 students)White: 7.9% (27 students)Asian: 5.9% (20 students)Total341

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Bellus Academy-Chula Vista. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Chula Vista, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
50% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Bellus Academy-Chula Vista offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Bellus Academy-Chula Vista

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Bellus Academy-Chula Vista is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Bellus Academy-Chula Vista is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Bellus Academy-Chula Vista

The questions families ask most about Bellus Academy-Chula Vista, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Bellus Academy-Chula Vista hard to get into?
Not especially. Bellus Academy-Chula Vista admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Bellus Academy-Chula Vista?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Bellus Academy-Chula Vista cost?
Budget around $20,738 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bellus Academy-Chula Vista worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $23,576 a year against a net price of $20,738, about 1.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Bellus Academy-Chula Vista known for?
Mostly Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Bellus Academy-Chula Vista graduates earn?
About $23,576 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Bellus Academy-Chula Vista accredited?
Yes. Bellus Academy-Chula Vista is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.
How many students attend Bellus Academy-Chula Vista?
341 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Bellus Academy-Chula Vista?
74% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Bellus Academy-Chula Vista a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Bellus Academy-Chula Vista located?
Bellus Academy-Chula Vista is located in Chula Vista, California.
What programs does Bellus Academy-Chula Vista offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Bellus Academy-Chula Vista?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.