Private For-Profit Certificate Strong 70/100

Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Mentor, Ohio

About Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor

Thinking about Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Personal Services than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Mentor, Ohio. It enrolls 115 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
75.6%
Net Price
$18,251
Median Earnings (10yr)
$27,446
Enrollment
115
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Academic Calendar Differs by Program

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
70/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 90
Value 17
Affordability 48
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $18,251 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$18,251
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
48%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
73%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $14,642
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $15,666
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $17,709
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $20,811
  • Over $110,000
    $21,061

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,167
10% percentile
$5,097
25% percentile
$7,267
Median percentile
$12,000
75% percentile
$16,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,333 ↓ $934
No Pell $6,333 ↓ $934
Dependent students $8,821 ↑ $1,554
Independent students $6,333 ↓ $934
Pell recipients: 22.8% (1,654 students)No Pell: 22.8% (1,654 students)Dependent students: 31.7% (2,304 students)Independent students: 22.8% (1,654 students)Overall Median$7,267
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $3,166, less than completers ($7,267), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

76% of students who start here finish within six years, and 80% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
76%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
80%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $27,446 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$27,446
Earning > $25K
46%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$25,000$25,500$26,500$27,000$28,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 11.3 pts across 6 years
54.8%1yr57.7%3yr57%5yr66.1%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 66% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 115 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 43% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
115
Part-Time
21%
First-Generation
43%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 81.7% 94
Black 13.0% 15
Hispanic 2.6% 3
Other 2.6% 3
White: 81.7% (94 students)Black: 13.0% (15 students)Hispanic: 2.6% (3 students)Other: 2.6% (3 students)Total115

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Mentor, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
25% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Differs by Program scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor

The questions families ask most about Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor hard to get into?
Not especially. Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor cost?
Budget around $18,251 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $27,446 a year against a net price of $18,251, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor known for?
Mostly Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor graduates earn?
About $27,446 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor accredited?
Yes. Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.
How many students attend Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor?
115 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor?
76% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor located?
Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor is located in Mentor, Ohio.
What programs does Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Brown Aveda Institute-Mentor?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.