Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in CANAL WINCHESTER, Ohio. It enrolls 57 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorNational Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Academic CalendarContinuous
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
67/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes82
Value9
Affordability51
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $18,476 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$18,026
$30,001 – $48,000
$17,212
$48,001 – $75,000
$20,465
Over $110,000
$18,804
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,02510%percentile
$3,50025%percentile
$9,833Medianpercentile
$10,00075%percentile
$12,67590%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,321
↓ $512
No Pell $9,833
—
Dependent students $9,144
↓ $689
Independent students $9,800
—
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,025, less than completers ($9,833), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
45% of students who start here finish within six years, and 88% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
45%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
88%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $23,131 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$23,131
Earning > $25K
42%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
What this means:
Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$1.3 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 57 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 55% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
57
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
55%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 59.7%34
Black 31.6%18
Asian 3.5%2
Other 3.5%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large SuburbCANAL WINCHESTER, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
24%of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuousscheduling structure
What You Can Study
Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester offers
a focused set of programs:
1 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.
Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Pros & Cons of Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for:
Based on the data, Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester
The questions families ask most about Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester hard to get into?
Not especially. Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester cost?
Budget around $18,476 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $23,131 a year against a net price of $18,476, about 1.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester known for?
Mostly Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester graduates earn?
About $23,131 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester accredited?
Yes. Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.
How many students attend Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester?
57 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester?
45% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester located?
Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester is located in CANAL WINCHESTER, Ohio.
What programs does Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Ohio State School of Cosmetology-Canal Winchester?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Ohio
Other colleges in Ohio share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.