Public Associate Good 69/100

Butler County Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Butler, Pennsylvania

About Butler County Community College

Thinking about Butler County Community College, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Butler County Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Butler, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 1,789 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
22.1%
Net Price
$6,233
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,891
Enrollment
1,789
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 40
Value 78
Affordability 55
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Butler County Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,233 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,233
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
30%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
17%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$5,910
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$12,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$6,000
Books & Supplies
$1,400
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,700
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,340

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,083
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $3,439
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,865
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $9,940
  • Over $110,000
    $11,826

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,500
10% percentile
$2,674
25% percentile
$10,020
Median percentile
$9,398
75% percentile
$14,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $4,495 ↓ $5,525
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,520
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $4,520
Independent students $4,750 ↓ $5,270
Female students $5,500 ↓ $4,520
Male students $5,500 ↓ $4,520
Pell recipients: 14.4% (1,442 students)No Pell: 17.6% (1,764 students)Dependent students: 17.6% (1,764 students)Independent students: 15.2% (1,523 students)Female students: 17.6% (1,764 students)Male students: 17.6% (1,764 students)Overall Median$10,020
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,020), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

22% of students who start here finish within six years, and 65% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
22%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
65%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,891 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,891
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$33,000$35,000$36,000$38,000$40,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$30,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$42,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$29,800

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$39,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$38,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,800, about 28% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 5.7 pts across 6 years
70.2%1yr76.8%3yr75.2%5yr75.9%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 76% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,789 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 43% are the first in their family to go to college, and 51% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
1,789
Part-Time
51%
First-Generation
43%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 87.0% 1,557
Other 4.1% 74
Black 2.6% 47
Hispanic 2.2% 39
Asian 1.4% 25
International 0.5% 9
White: 87.0% (1,557 students)Other: 4.1% (74 students)Black: 2.6% (47 students)Hispanic: 2.2% (39 students)Asian: 1.4% (25 students)International: 0.5% (9 students)Total1,789

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Butler County Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Fringe Butler, Pennsylvania
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
22% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Butler County Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 43 distinct programs across 18 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

8 Programs
9 Programs
1 Program
3 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$7,057
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$6.9M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$67,347
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

57 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 18 32% $89,291
Associate Professors 10 18% $63,553
Assistant Professors 12 21% $58,651
Instructors 16 28% $54,262
No Rank 1 2% $24,000

Pros & Cons of Butler County Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Butler County Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Butler County Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Butler County Community College

The questions families ask most about Butler County Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Butler County Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Butler County Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Butler County Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Butler County Community College cost?
Budget around $6,233 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Butler County Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,891 a year against a net price of $6,233, about 6.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Butler County Community College known for?
Mostly Nursing, Business Administration, Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Butler County Community College graduates earn?
About $38,891 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Butler County Community College accredited?
Yes. Butler County Community College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Butler County Community College?
1,789 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Butler County Community College?
22% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Butler County Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Butler County Community College located?
Butler County Community College is located in Butler, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Butler County Community College offer?
43 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Business Administration, Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Butler County Community College?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.