Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 58/100

Campbell University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Buies Creek, North Carolina

About Campbell University

Thinking about Campbell University, a college in North Carolina where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Campbell University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Buies Creek, North Carolina. It enrolls 2,680 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
87.2%
Graduation
54.3%
Net Price
$24,516
Median Earnings (10yr)
$54,886
Enrollment
2,680
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
58/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 51
Value 30
Affordability 46
Selectivity 29

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Campbell University admits 87.2% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
87.2%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Campbell University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 16.6 pts since 2019
77.7%201981.3%202087.3%202193.7%202294.3%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $24,516 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$24,516
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
38%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
39%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$41,600
Room & Board (on-campus)
$15,200
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,200
Books & Supplies
$1,438
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$6,849
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,849
Total Cost of Attendance
$62,187

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $20,751
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $20,981
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $19,979
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $26,959
  • Over $110,000
    $30,864

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,750
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$22,500
Median percentile
$26,000
75% percentile
$33,750
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $18,000 ↓ $4,500
No Pell $15,550 ↓ $6,950
Dependent students $17,000 ↓ $5,500
Independent students $16,991 ↓ $5,509
Female students $17,999 ↓ $4,501
Male students $15,500 ↓ $7,000
Pell recipients: 17.8% (4,008 students)No Pell: 15.4% (3,463 students)Dependent students: 16.8% (3,786 students)Independent students: 16.8% (3,784 students)Female students: 17.8% (4,008 students)Male students: 15.3% (3,452 students)Overall Median$22,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,273, less than completers ($22,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

54% of students who start here finish within six years, and 75% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
54%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
75%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $54,886 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$54,886
Earning > $25K
82%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$44,000$47,000$50,000$53,000$56,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$54,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$62,700

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$59,300

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$53,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$61,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $8,200, about 13% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 22.0 pts across 6 years
62.9%1yr68.5%3yr80.8%5yr84.9%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 85% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,680 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 31% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,680
Part-Time
15%
First-Generation
31%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 58.2% 1,560
Black 14.8% 397
Hispanic 14.0% 375
Other 5.3% 142
International 2.1% 56
Asian 1.7% 45
White: 58.2% (1,560 students)Black: 14.8% (397 students)Hispanic: 14.0% (375 students)Other: 5.3% (142 students)International: 2.1% (56 students)Asian: 1.7% (45 students)Total2,680

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Campbell University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Fringe Buies Creek, North Carolina
Housing
Mostly residential 1,387 beds on campus
Adult Learners
23% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Campbell University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 73 distinct programs across 25 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

13 Programs
10 Programs
1 Program
  • Law $143K ($74K–$297K)
1 Program
3 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$478M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$83,247
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

245 instructional faculty across 6 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 46 19% $106,697
Associate Professors 96 39% $80,840
Assistant Professors 76 31% $78,133
Instructors 24 10% $63,053
Lecturers 1 0% $51,036
No Rank 2 1% $114,750

Pros & Cons of Campbell University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Campbell University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • High published cost of attendance before aid
Best for: Based on the data, Campbell University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Campbell University

The questions families ask most about Campbell University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Campbell University hard to get into?
Not especially. Campbell University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 87.2%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Campbell University?
87.2% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Campbell University cost?
Budget around $24,516 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Campbell University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $54,886 a year against a net price of $24,516, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Campbell University known for?
Mostly Medicine, Law, Kinesiology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Campbell University graduates earn?
About $54,886 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Campbell University accredited?
Yes. Campbell University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Campbell University?
2,680 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Campbell University?
54% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Campbell University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Campbell University located?
Campbell University is located in Buies Creek, North Carolina.
What programs does Campbell University offer?
73 different programs, most commonly Medicine, Law, Kinesiology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Campbell University?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.