Public Associate Good 61/100

Catawba Valley Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Hickory, North Carolina

About Catawba Valley Community College

Thinking about Catawba Valley Community College, a college in North Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Catawba Valley Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Hickory, North Carolina. It enrolls 2,741 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
25%
Net Price
$10,528
Median Earnings (10yr)
$36,977
Enrollment
2,741
Student : Faculty
13:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 42
Value 48
Affordability 41
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Catawba Valley Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,528 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,528
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
28%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,427
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$7,803
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,734
Books & Supplies
$1,870
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$12,794
Total Cost of Attendance
$20,446

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,170
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,639
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $13,129
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $15,469

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$3,000
25% percentile
$4,938
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile
$14,375
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,500 ↑ $562
No Pell $3,616 ↓ $1,322
Dependent students $3,668 ↓ $1,270
Independent students $6,875 ↑ $1,937
Female students $5,450 ↑ $512
Male students $4,750 ↓ $188
Pell recipients: 18.4% (910 students)No Pell: 12.1% (598 students)Dependent students: 12.3% (607 students)Independent students: 23.0% (1,137 students)Female students: 18.3% (901 students)Male students: 15.9% (786 students)Overall Median$4,938
What this means: 28% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

25% of students who start here finish within six years, and 67% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
25%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,977 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,977
Earning > $25K
63%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$33,000$35,000$36,000$38,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$35,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,200, about 20% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 25.9 pts across 6 years
48.3%1yr54.6%3yr69.4%5yr74.2%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 74% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,741 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 50% are the first in their family to go to college, and 64% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,741
Part-Time
64%
First-Generation
50%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 60.6% 1,662
Hispanic 17.4% 478
Black 8.7% 237
Asian 6.9% 189
Other 3.7% 101
International 1.4% 37
White: 60.6% (1,662 students)Hispanic: 17.4% (478 students)Black: 8.7% (237 students)Asian: 6.9% (189 students)Other: 3.7% (101 students)International: 1.4% (37 students)Total2,741

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Catawba Valley Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Hickory, North Carolina
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
15% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Catawba Valley Community College offers a varied set of programs: 38 distinct programs across 16 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
6 Programs
5 Programs
4 Programs
4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 13 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
13:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,102
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$5.0M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$55,225
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

124 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 124 100% $55,225

Pros & Cons of Catawba Valley Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Catawba Valley Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Catawba Valley Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Catawba Valley Community College

The questions families ask most about Catawba Valley Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Catawba Valley Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Catawba Valley Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Catawba Valley Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Catawba Valley Community College cost?
Budget around $10,528 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Catawba Valley Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,977 a year against a net price of $10,528, about 3.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Catawba Valley Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Catawba Valley Community College graduates earn?
About $36,977 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Catawba Valley Community College accredited?
Yes. Catawba Valley Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Catawba Valley Community College?
2,741 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Catawba Valley Community College?
25% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Catawba Valley Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Catawba Valley Community College located?
Catawba Valley Community College is located in Hickory, North Carolina.
What programs does Catawba Valley Community College offer?
38 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Catawba Valley Community College?
13 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.