Private Nonprofit Graduate Strong 80/100

The Chicago School at San Diego

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

San Diego, California

About The Chicago School at San Diego

Thinking about The Chicago School at San Diego, a college in California where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

The Chicago School at San Diego is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in San Diego, California. It enrolls 2 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
58.6%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$56,899
Enrollment
2
Student : Faculty
5:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
80/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 77
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

The Chicago School at San Diego does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether The Chicago School at San Diego is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

0%20210%2022100%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. The Chicago School at San Diego has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
60%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
40%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$21,780
Room & Board (off-campus)
$18,536
Books & Supplies
$2,184
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,568

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,166
10% percentile
$1,949
25% percentile
$20,000
Median percentile
$7,593
75% percentile
$24,136
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $10,500 ↓ $9,500
No Pell $9,500 ↓ $10,500
Dependent students $7,500 ↓ $12,500
Independent students $10,938 ↓ $9,062
Female students $10,250 ↓ $9,750
Male students $9,934 ↓ $10,066
Pell recipients: 17.9% (3,582 students)No Pell: 16.2% (3,241 students)Dependent students: 12.8% (2,559 students)Independent students: 18.7% (3,732 students)Female students: 17.5% (3,497 students)Male students: 16.9% (3,389 students)Overall Median$20,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($20,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

59% of students who start here finish within six years. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
59%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $56,899 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$56,899
Earning > $25K
82%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$51,000$53,000$54,000$56,000$58,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 46% are the first in their family to go to college, and 100% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2
Part-Time
100%
First-Generation
46%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 50.0% 1
Hispanic: 50.0% (1 students)Total2

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at The Chicago School at San Diego. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City San Diego, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
60% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Psychology graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

The Chicago School at San Diego offers a focused set of programs: 4 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 5 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
5:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$69,969
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of The Chicago School at San Diego

No college is right for everyone. Here is where The Chicago School at San Diego is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, The Chicago School at San Diego is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about The Chicago School at San Diego

The questions families ask most about The Chicago School at San Diego, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What is The Chicago School at San Diego known for?
Mostly Mental Health Services, Counseling Psychology, Counseling Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do The Chicago School at San Diego graduates earn?
About $56,899 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego accredited?
Yes. The Chicago School at San Diego is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
How many students attend The Chicago School at San Diego?
2 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at The Chicago School at San Diego?
59% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is The Chicago School at San Diego a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is The Chicago School at San Diego located?
The Chicago School at San Diego is located in San Diego, California.
What programs does The Chicago School at San Diego offer?
4 different programs, most commonly Mental Health Services, Counseling Psychology, Counseling Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at The Chicago School at San Diego?
5 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.