Musicians Institute is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Hollywood, California. It enrolls 759 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorNational Association of Schools of Music
Academic CalendarQuarter
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
47/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes44
Value0
Affordability10
Selectivity46
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Musicians Institute admits 78% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
78%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Musicians Institute is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Stable ↑
2.6 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $46,518 a year on average, it sits above what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$34,322
Room & Board (off-campus)
$22,086
Books & Supplies
$1,746
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,992
Total Cost of Attendance
$52,369
Application fee: $100 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$44,392
$30,001 – $48,000
$46,239
$48,001 – $75,000
$47,465
$75,001 – $110,000
$49,296
Over $110,000
$51,119
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,50110%percentile
$3,66825%percentile
$9,83475%percentile
$19,66790%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,035
—
No Pell $5,500
—
Dependent students $5,833
—
Independent students $6,334
—
Female students $7,438
—
Male students $6,334
—
What this means:
20% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.
Graduation Rate & Retention
76% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,778 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,778
Earning > $25K
53%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$32,900
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$37,500
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$36,600
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$34,700
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$39,700
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
15.3 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 61% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 759 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 34% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
759
Part-Time
28%
First-Generation
34%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
International 45.1%342
White 20.6%156
Hispanic 7.9%60
Black 7.4%56
Asian 7.3%55
Other 5.9%45
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Musicians Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Musicians Institute offers
a focused set of programs:
8 distinct programs across
3 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 6 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
6:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$28,394
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
41 instructional faculty across 1 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Instructors
41
100%
$28,394
Pros & Cons of Musicians Institute
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Musicians Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for:
Based on the data, Musicians Institute is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Musicians Institute
The questions families ask most about Musicians Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Musicians Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Musicians Institute admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 78%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Musicians Institute?
78% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Musicians Institute cost?
Budget around $46,518 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Musicians Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,778 a year against a net price of $46,518, about 0.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Musicians Institute known for?
Mostly Music, Music, Music. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Musicians Institute graduates earn?
About $32,778 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Musicians Institute accredited?
Yes. Musicians Institute is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music.
How many students attend Musicians Institute?
759 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Musicians Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Musicians Institute located?
Musicians Institute is located in Hollywood, California.
What programs does Musicians Institute offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Music, Music, Music. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Musicians Institute?
6 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in California
Other colleges in California share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.