About The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio
Thinking about The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.
The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in San Antonio, Texas. It enrolls 419 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic CalendarDiffers by Program
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
66/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes82
Value6
Affordability52
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $28,829 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$28,617
$30,001 – $48,000
$28,614
$48,001 – $75,000
$29,893
$75,001 – $110,000
$31,976
Over $110,000
$34,322
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,92610%percentile
$5,50025%percentile
$9,500Medianpercentile
$14,69575%percentile
$20,86790%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,495
—
No Pell $8,083
↓ $1,417
Dependent students $5,500
↓ $4,000
Independent students $9,500
—
Female students $9,485
—
Male students $9,226
↓ $274
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,005, less than completers ($9,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
65% of students who start here finish within six years, and 77% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
65%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
77%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $33,070 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$33,070
Earning > $25K
56%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$28,800
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$37,500
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $8,700, about 23% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Stable ↑
2.2 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Concerning. Only 38% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 419 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
419
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
56%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 83.3%349
White 7.2%30
Black 6.7%28
Other 1.2%5
Asian 0.5%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CitySan Antonio, Texas
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
31%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Differs by Programscheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus
What You Can Study
The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio offers
a focused set of programs:
4 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 30 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
30:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$37,845
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
12 instructional faculty across 1 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Instructors
12
100%
$37,845
Pros & Cons of The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio
No college is right for everyone. Here is where The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Best for:
Based on the data, The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio
The questions families ask most about The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio hard to get into?
Not especially. The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio cost?
Budget around $28,829 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $33,070 a year against a net price of $28,829, about 1.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio known for?
Mostly Medical Assisting, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions, Health Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio graduates earn?
About $33,070 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio accredited?
Yes. The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio?
419 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio?
65% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio located?
The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio is located in San Antonio, Texas.
What programs does The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio offer?
4 different programs, most commonly Medical Assisting, Dental Support Services and Allied Professions, Health Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at The College of Health Care Professions-South San Antonio?
30 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Texas
Other colleges in Texas share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Medical Assisting
Allied Health Diagnostic
Allied Health Diagnostic
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.