Public Bachelor's Good 63/100

Colorado Mountain College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Glenwood Springs, Colorado

About Colorado Mountain College

Thinking about Colorado Mountain College, a college in Colorado where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Colorado Mountain College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Glenwood Springs, Colorado. It enrolls 2,816 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
28.3%
Net Price
$7,813
Median Earnings (10yr)
$44,127
Enrollment
2,816
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
63/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 23
Value 81
Affordability 42
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Colorado Mountain College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,813 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$7,813
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
12%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
8%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,616
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$12,840
Room & Board (on-campus)
$12,680
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,785
Books & Supplies
$840
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,811
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,548
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,799

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $5,190
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $3,311
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,413
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $9,512
  • Over $110,000
    $13,689

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$3,000
25% percentile
$9,000
Median percentile
$10,000
75% percentile
$17,411
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,796 ↓ $3,204
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $3,500
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $3,500
Independent students $5,487 ↓ $3,513
Female students $5,500 ↓ $3,500
Male students $5,500 ↓ $3,500
Pell recipients: 17.4% (1,567 students)No Pell: 16.5% (1,487 students)Dependent students: 16.5% (1,487 students)Independent students: 16.5% (1,484 students)Female students: 16.5% (1,487 students)Male students: 16.5% (1,487 students)Overall Median$9,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($9,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

28% of students who start here finish within six years, and 47% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
28%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
47%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $44,127 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$44,127
Earning > $25K
69%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$35,000$38,000$40,000$43,000$45,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$41,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$35,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$37,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$39,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,500, about 18% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 12.9 pts across 6 years
64.9%1yr66.8%3yr68.8%5yr77.8%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 78% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,816 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 37% are the first in their family to go to college, and 55% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,816
Part-Time
55%
First-Generation
37%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 56.4% 1,589
Hispanic 35.1% 989
Other 3.6% 102
Black 1.4% 39
Asian 1.0% 28
White: 56.4% (1,589 students)Hispanic: 35.1% (989 students)Other: 3.6% (102 students)Black: 1.4% (39 students)Asian: 1.0% (28 students)Total2,816

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Colorado Mountain College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Housing
Partly residential 755 beds available
Adult Learners
31% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Colorado Mountain College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 40 distinct programs across 15 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

9 Programs
1 Program
8 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$12,251
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$22M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$82,553
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

124 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 53 43% $98,072
Associate Professors 45 36% $73,076
Assistant Professors 26 21% $67,320

Pros & Cons of Colorado Mountain College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Colorado Mountain College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Colorado Mountain College is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Colorado Mountain College

The questions families ask most about Colorado Mountain College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Colorado Mountain College cost?
Budget around $7,813 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Colorado Mountain College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $44,127 a year against a net price of $7,813, about 5.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Colorado Mountain College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Allied Health Diagnostic, Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Colorado Mountain College graduates earn?
About $44,127 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Colorado Mountain College accredited?
Yes. Colorado Mountain College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Colorado Mountain College?
2,816 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Colorado Mountain College?
28% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Colorado Mountain College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Colorado Mountain College located?
Colorado Mountain College is located in Glenwood Springs, Colorado.
What programs does Colorado Mountain College offer?
40 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Allied Health Diagnostic, Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Colorado Mountain College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.