Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 65/100

Cox College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Springfield, Missouri

About Cox College

Thinking about Cox College, a college in Missouri where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Cox College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Springfield, Missouri. It enrolls 540 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
100%
Graduation
60.1%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$56,867
Enrollment
540
Student : Faculty
8:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
65/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 52
Value —
Affordability 44
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Cox College admits 100% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
100%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Required SAT or ACT scores must be submitted with the application.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Cox College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 32.5 pts since 2019
38.9%2019100%202039.4%202133.3%202271.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Cox College has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
36%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
58%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$14,822
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,664
Books & Supplies
$1,700
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,168

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,250
10% percentile
$9,000
25% percentile
$20,000
Median percentile
$25,250
75% percentile
$36,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $18,750 ↓ $1,250
No Pell $15,893 ↓ $4,107
Dependent students $15,007 ↓ $4,993
Independent students $19,958 —
Female students $18,000 ↓ $2,000
Male students $18,000 ↓ $2,000
Pell recipients: 17.8% (3,551 students)No Pell: 15.0% (3,010 students)Dependent students: 14.2% (2,842 students)Independent students: 18.9% (3,780 students)Female students: 17.0% (3,409 students)Male students: 17.0% (3,409 students)Overall Median$20,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($20,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

60% of students who start here finish within six years, and 25% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
60%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
25%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $56,867 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$56,867
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$56,500$57,000$57,500$58,500$59,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$40,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$45,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$41,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 4.8 pts across 6 years
72.1%1yr75.4%3yr81%5yr76.9%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 77% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 540 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college, and 46% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
540
Part-Time
46%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 83.3% 450
Hispanic 5.6% 30
Other 3.2% 17
Asian 2.0% 11
Black 1.3% 7
White: 83.3% (450 students)Hispanic: 5.6% (30 students)Other: 3.2% (17 students)Asian: 2.0% (11 students)Black: 1.3% (7 students)Total540

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Cox College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize City Springfield, Missouri
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
45% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Cox College offers a varied set of programs: 10 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

10 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$66,396
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

58 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 6 10% $82,376
Associate Professors 3 5% $69,541
Assistant Professors 46 79% $64,685
Instructors 3 5% $56,950

Pros & Cons of Cox College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Cox College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Cox College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Cox College

The questions families ask most about Cox College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Cox College hard to get into?
Not especially. Cox College admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 100%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Cox College?
100% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Cox College known for?
Mostly Nursing, Nursing, Rehabilitation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Cox College graduates earn?
About $56,867 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Cox College accredited?
Yes. Cox College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Cox College?
540 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Cox College?
60% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Cox College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Cox College located?
Cox College is located in Springfield, Missouri.
What programs does Cox College offer?
10 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Nursing, Rehabilitation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Cox College?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.