Public Bachelor's Good 61/100

Crafton Hills College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Yucaipa, California

About Crafton Hills College

Thinking about Crafton Hills College, a college in California where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Crafton Hills College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Yucaipa, California. It enrolls 5,687 students (a large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
15.5%
Net Price
$11,331
Median Earnings (10yr)
$42,553
Enrollment
5,687
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
61/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 36
Value 60
Affordability 34
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Crafton Hills College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $11,331 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$11,331
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
14%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$1,188
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$14,556
Room & Board (off-campus)
$26,829
Books & Supplies
$1,062
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,968
Total Cost of Attendance
$20,282

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,838
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,634
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $13,299
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,637
What this means: 14% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

15% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
15%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $42,553 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$42,553
Earning > $25K
68%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$34,000$36,000$39,000$41,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$34,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$46,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $12,000, about 26% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.8 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 5,687 students, a large student community. Worth knowing: 57% are the first in their family to go to college, and 70% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
5,687
Part-Time
70%
First-Generation
57%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 55.5% 3,155
White 27.6% 1,569
Asian 6.2% 350
Other 5.8% 330
Black 4.3% 242
International 0.1% 4
Hispanic: 55.5% (3,155 students)White: 27.6% (1,569 students)Asian: 6.2% (350 students)Other: 5.8% (330 students)Black: 4.3% (242 students)International: 0.1% (4 students)Total5,687

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Crafton Hills College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Yucaipa, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
30% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Interdisciplinary Studies graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Crafton Hills College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 41 distinct programs across 21 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
3 Programs
3 Programs
4 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$2,421
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$99,455
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

63 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 63 100% $99,455

Pros & Cons of Crafton Hills College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Crafton Hills College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Crafton Hills College is a fit for working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Crafton Hills College

The questions families ask most about Crafton Hills College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Crafton Hills College cost?
Budget around $11,331 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Crafton Hills College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $42,553 a year against a net price of $11,331, about 3.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Crafton Hills College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Biological and Physical Sciences, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Crafton Hills College graduates earn?
About $42,553 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Crafton Hills College accredited?
Yes. Crafton Hills College is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend Crafton Hills College?
5,687 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Crafton Hills College?
15% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Crafton Hills College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Crafton Hills College located?
Crafton Hills College is located in Yucaipa, California.
What programs does Crafton Hills College offer?
41 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Biological and Physical Sciences, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Crafton Hills College?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.