Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 52/100

Dominican University New York

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Orangeburg, New York

About Dominican University New York

Thinking about Dominican University New York, a college in New York where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Dominican University New York is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Orangeburg, New York. It enrolls 1,105 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
63.3%
Graduation
56.7%
Net Price
$41,832
Median Earnings (10yr)
$61,171
Enrollment
1,105
Student : Faculty
14:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
52/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 29
Value 5
Affordability 42
Selectivity 71

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Dominican University New York admits 63.3% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
63.3%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Dominican University New York is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 1.0 pts since 2019
77.8%201974.6%202075.6%202189%202278.8%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $41,832 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$41,832
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
48%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
77%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$34,220
Room & Board (on-campus)
$15,090
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,000
Books & Supplies
$1,900
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,950
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,150
Total Cost of Attendance
$47,802

Application fee: $40 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $40,695
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $41,082
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $42,353
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $43,764
  • Over $110,000
    $42,337

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,166
10% percentile
$6,250
25% percentile
$25,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$36,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $22,425 ↓ $2,575
No Pell $12,500 ↓ $12,500
Dependent students $18,999 ↓ $6,001
Independent students $16,750 ↓ $8,250
Female students $19,000 ↓ $6,000
Male students $15,000 ↓ $10,000
Pell recipients: 21.4% (5,356 students)No Pell: 11.9% (2,985 students)Dependent students: 18.2% (4,538 students)Independent students: 16.0% (4,001 students)Female students: 18.2% (4,538 students)Male students: 14.3% (3,583 students)Overall Median$25,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,250, less than completers ($25,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

57% of students who start here finish within six years, and 67% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
57%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $61,171 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$61,171
Earning > $25K
84%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$49,000$53,000$56,000$59,000$63,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$52,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$52,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$48,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$51,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$56,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 14.1 pts across 6 years
58.1%1yr66.4%3yr70.3%5yr72.3%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,105 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,105
Part-Time
6%
First-Generation
32%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 43.7% 483
White 24.3% 269
Black 16.2% 179
Asian 5.4% 60
International 4.3% 47
Other 3.6% 40
Hispanic: 43.7% (483 students)White: 24.3% (269 students)Black: 16.2% (179 students)Asian: 5.4% (60 students)International: 4.3% (47 students)Other: 3.6% (40 students)Total1,105

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Dominican University New York. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Orangeburg, New York
Housing
Mostly residential 656 beds on campus
Adult Learners
11% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Dominican University New York offers a varied set of programs: 27 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
6 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 14 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
14:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$30M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$77,259
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

68 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 5 7% $93,830
Associate Professors 22 32% $83,191
Assistant Professors 32 47% $73,211
Instructors 9 13% $67,944

Pros & Cons of Dominican University New York

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Dominican University New York is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • High net price compared to most US colleges
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Dominican University New York is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Dominican University New York

The questions families ask most about Dominican University New York, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Dominican University New York hard to get into?
Admissions at Dominican University New York are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 63.3%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Dominican University New York?
63.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Dominican University New York cost?
Budget around $41,832 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Dominican University New York worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $61,171 a year against a net price of $41,832, about 1.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Dominican University New York known for?
Mostly Nursing, Social Sciences, Rehabilitation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Dominican University New York graduates earn?
About $61,171 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Dominican University New York accredited?
Yes. Dominican University New York is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Dominican University New York?
1,105 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Dominican University New York?
57% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Dominican University New York a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Dominican University New York located?
Dominican University New York is located in Orangeburg, New York.
What programs does Dominican University New York offer?
27 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Social Sciences, Rehabilitation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Dominican University New York?
14 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.