Private For-Profit Graduate Good 56/100

Five Towns College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Dix Hills, New York

About Five Towns College

Thinking about Five Towns College, a college in New York where more students graduate in Visual & Performing Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Five Towns College is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Dix Hills, New York. It enrolls 547 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
53.8%
Graduation
51.3%
Net Price
$22,992
Median Earnings (10yr)
$35,887
Enrollment
547
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
56/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 39
Value 7
Affordability 45
Selectivity 81

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Five Towns College admits 53.8% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
53.8%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Five Towns College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 38.4 pts since 2019
33.6%201947%202045.8%202158.3%202272%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,992 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,992
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
42%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$30,250
Room & Board (on-campus)
$15,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$10,000
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$42,458

Application fee: $35 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $17,588
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $20,113
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $24,284
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $26,744
  • Over $110,000
    $27,724

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,212
10% percentile
$6,000
25% percentile
$21,500
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$36,563
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $14,500 ↓ $7,000
No Pell $9,750 ↓ $11,750
Dependent students $12,000 ↓ $9,500
Independent students $24,899 ↑ $3,399
Female students $18,990 ↓ $2,510
Male students $11,000 ↓ $10,500
Pell recipients: 15.9% (3,421 students)No Pell: 10.7% (2,300 students)Dependent students: 13.2% (2,831 students)Independent students: 27.3% (5,874 students)Female students: 20.8% (4,480 students)Male students: 12.1% (2,595 students)Overall Median$21,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($21,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

51% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
51%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $35,887 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$35,887
Earning > $25K
59%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$24,000$27,000$31,000$34,000$37,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,800

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$43,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$36,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$37,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$43,400

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,000, about 23% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 13.3 pts across 6 years
57.2%1yr64.3%3yr68.1%5yr70.6%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 71% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 547 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
547
Part-Time
7%
First-Generation
32%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 42.6% 233
Hispanic 29.1% 159
Black 18.1% 99
Other 3.1% 17
International 1.3% 7
Asian 0.4% 2
White: 42.6% (233 students)Hispanic: 29.1% (159 students)Black: 18.1% (99 students)Other: 3.1% (17 students)International: 1.3% (7 students)Asian: 0.4% (2 students)Total547

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Five Towns College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Dix Hills, New York
Housing
Partly residential 208 beds available
Adult Learners
5% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Five Towns College offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 6 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$54,715
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

20 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 5 25% $63,391
Associate Professors 4 20% $57,608
Assistant Professors 8 40% $51,023
Instructors 3 15% $46,244

Pros & Cons of Five Towns College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Five Towns College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Five Towns College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Five Towns College

The questions families ask most about Five Towns College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Five Towns College hard to get into?
Admissions at Five Towns College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 53.8%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Five Towns College?
53.8% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Five Towns College cost?
Budget around $22,992 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Five Towns College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $35,887 a year against a net price of $22,992, about 1.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Five Towns College known for?
Mostly Business & Management, Other, Film & Video Production, Music. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Five Towns College graduates earn?
About $35,887 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Five Towns College accredited?
Yes. Five Towns College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Five Towns College?
547 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Five Towns College?
51% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Five Towns College a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Five Towns College located?
Five Towns College is located in Dix Hills, New York.
What programs does Five Towns College offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Business & Management, Other, Film & Video Production, Music. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Five Towns College?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.