Public Associate Good 69/100

Hennepin Technical College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota

About Hennepin Technical College

Thinking about Hennepin Technical College, a college in Minnesota where more students graduate in Mechanics & Repair than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Hennepin Technical College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota. It enrolls 3,157 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
29.7%
Net Price
$10,272
Median Earnings (10yr)
$49,460
Enrollment
3,157
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 57
Value 65
Affordability 42
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Hennepin Technical College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,272 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,272
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
29%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
20%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$5,940
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,728
Books & Supplies
$2,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,050
Total Cost of Attendance
$16,032

Application fee: $20 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,924
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,495
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,629
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,069
  • Over $110,000
    $15,484

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,042
25% percentile
$11,433
Median percentile
$19,812
75% percentile
$32,501
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,156 ↓ $277
No Pell $8,708 ↓ $2,725
Dependent students $6,500 ↓ $4,933
Independent students $11,179 ↓ $254
Female students $9,500 ↓ $1,933
Male students $9,500 ↓ $1,933
Pell recipients: 19.7% (2,256 students)No Pell: 15.4% (1,761 students)Dependent students: 11.5% (1,314 students)Independent students: 19.8% (2,260 students)Female students: 16.8% (1,921 students)Male students: 16.8% (1,921 students)Overall Median$11,433
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,448, close to what completers borrow ($11,433) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

30% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
30%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $49,460 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$49,460
Earning > $25K
74%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$46,500$47,500$48,000$49,000$50,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$45,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$42,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$44,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $12,100, about 27% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 19.7 pts across 6 years
59.9%1yr64.3%3yr74.3%5yr79.6%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 80% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 3,157 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 38% are the first in their family to go to college, and 50% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
3,157
Part-Time
50%
First-Generation
38%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 46.3% 1,463
Black 23.4% 740
Asian 11.7% 369
Hispanic 11.7% 368
Other 5.4% 170
International 0.5% 15
White: 46.3% (1,463 students)Black: 23.4% (740 students)Asian: 11.7% (369 students)Hispanic: 11.7% (368 students)Other: 5.4% (170 students)International: 0.5% (15 students)Total3,157

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Hennepin Technical College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
38% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Hennepin Technical College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 57 distinct programs across 16 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

4 Programs
10 Programs
5 Programs
5 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$8,222
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$1.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$75,137
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

88 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 88 100% $75,137

Pros & Cons of Hennepin Technical College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Hennepin Technical College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
Best for: Based on the data, Hennepin Technical College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Hennepin Technical College

The questions families ask most about Hennepin Technical College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Hennepin Technical College hard to get into?
Not especially. Hennepin Technical College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Hennepin Technical College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Hennepin Technical College cost?
Budget around $10,272 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Hennepin Technical College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $49,460 a year against a net price of $10,272, about 4.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Hennepin Technical College known for?
Mostly Heating, Vehicle Maintenance, IT Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Hennepin Technical College graduates earn?
About $49,460 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Hennepin Technical College accredited?
Yes. Hennepin Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Hennepin Technical College?
3,157 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Hennepin Technical College?
30% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Hennepin Technical College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Hennepin Technical College located?
Hennepin Technical College is located in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota.
What programs does Hennepin Technical College offer?
57 different programs, most commonly Heating, Vehicle Maintenance, IT Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Hennepin Technical College?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.