Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 56/100

Herzing University-Kenosha

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Kenosha, Wisconsin

About Herzing University-Kenosha

Thinking about Herzing University-Kenosha, a college in Wisconsin where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Herzing University-Kenosha is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Kenosha, Wisconsin. It enrolls 522 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
92%
Graduation
35.2%
Net Price
$23,066
Median Earnings (10yr)
$36,909
Enrollment
522
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
56/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 54
Value 8
Affordability 64
Selectivity 16

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Herzing University-Kenosha admits 92% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
92%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Herzing University-Kenosha is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 32.3 pts since 2019
57.1%201991.4%202093.2%202193.5%202289.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $23,066 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$23,066
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
62%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
80%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$13,450
Room & Board (off-campus)
$8,928
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,066
Total Cost of Attendance
$28,414

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $21,600
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $25,283
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $24,333
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $24,103
  • Over $110,000
    $28,132

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,466
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$21,500
Median percentile
$23,024
75% percentile
$34,866
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,122 ↓ $10,378
No Pell $14,250 ↓ $7,250
Dependent students $11,000 ↓ $10,500
Independent students $12,018 ↓ $9,482
Female students $11,575 ↓ $9,925
Male students $12,998 ↓ $8,502
Pell recipients: 15.2% (3,277 students)No Pell: 19.5% (4,199 students)Dependent students: 15.1% (3,241 students)Independent students: 16.5% (3,541 students)Female students: 15.9% (3,411 students)Male students: 17.8% (3,830 students)Overall Median$21,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,862, less than completers ($21,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

35% of students who start here finish within six years, and 71% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
35%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
71%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $36,909 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$36,909
Earning > $25K
61%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$35,000$36,000$36,500$37,500$38,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$34,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$48,500

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$35,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$42,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$52,600

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $14,300, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 23.7 pts across 6 years
39%1yr45.2%3yr49.6%5yr62.7%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 63% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 522 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college, and 61% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
522
Part-Time
61%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 32.2% 168
White 26.6% 139
Black 24.1% 126
Asian 10.0% 52
Other 3.3% 17
Hispanic: 32.2% (168 students)White: 26.6% (139 students)Black: 24.1% (126 students)Asian: 10.0% (52 students)Other: 3.3% (17 students)Total522

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Herzing University-Kenosha. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Kenosha, Wisconsin
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
77% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Liberal Arts graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Herzing University-Kenosha offers a varied set of programs: 14 distinct programs across 5 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
1 Program
4 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$8.3M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$66,461
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

15 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 2 13% $83,151
Assistant Professors 11 73% $64,497
Instructors 2 13% $60,567

Pros & Cons of Herzing University-Kenosha

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Herzing University-Kenosha is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
Best for: Based on the data, Herzing University-Kenosha is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Herzing University-Kenosha

The questions families ask most about Herzing University-Kenosha, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Herzing University-Kenosha hard to get into?
Not especially. Herzing University-Kenosha admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 92%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Herzing University-Kenosha?
92% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Herzing University-Kenosha cost?
Budget around $23,066 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Herzing University-Kenosha worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $36,909 a year against a net price of $23,066, about 1.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Herzing University-Kenosha known for?
Mostly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Liberal Arts. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Herzing University-Kenosha graduates earn?
About $36,909 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Herzing University-Kenosha accredited?
Yes. Herzing University-Kenosha is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Herzing University-Kenosha?
522 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Herzing University-Kenosha?
35% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Herzing University-Kenosha a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Herzing University-Kenosha located?
Herzing University-Kenosha is located in Kenosha, Wisconsin.
What programs does Herzing University-Kenosha offer?
14 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Liberal Arts. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Herzing University-Kenosha?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.