Horizon University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Indianapolis, Indiana. It enrolls 63 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAssociation for Biblical Higher Education
Academic CalendarTrimester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
62/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes57
Value45
Affordability23
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Horizon University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,285 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$9,840
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,120
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,740
Total Cost of Attendance
$29,680
Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)
What this means:
22% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.
Graduation Rate & Retention
67% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
67%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $65,875 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$65,875
Earning > $25K
86%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
What this means:
Moderate return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.0 of median earnings 10 years out. Compare carefully against your funding plan.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 63 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 49% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
63
Part-Time
49%
First-Generation
—
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 85.7%54
Other 6.4%4
Hispanic 3.2%2
Black 3.2%2
International 1.6%1
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Horizon University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large SuburbIndianapolis, Indiana
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
38%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Trimesterscheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated
What You Can Study
Horizon University offers
a focused set of programs:
2 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for:
Based on the data, Horizon University is a fit for
working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Horizon University
The questions families ask most about Horizon University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does Horizon University cost?
Budget around $22,285 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Horizon University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $65,875 a year against a net price of $22,285, about 3.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Horizon University known for?
Mostly Bible/Biblical Studies, Bible/Biblical Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Horizon University graduates earn?
About $65,875 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Horizon University accredited?
Yes. Horizon University is accredited by the Association for Biblical Higher Education.
How many students attend Horizon University?
63 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Horizon University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Horizon University located?
Horizon University is located in Indianapolis, Indiana.
What programs does Horizon University offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Bible/Biblical Studies, Bible/Biblical Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Horizon University?
7 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Indiana
Other colleges in Indiana share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Special Education
Special Education
Special Education
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.