Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 46/100

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Saint Mary of the Woods, Indiana

About Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

Thinking about Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College, a college in Indiana where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Saint Mary of the Woods, Indiana. It enrolls 853 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
72.4%
Graduation
48.4%
Net Price
$31,872
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,845
Enrollment
853
Student : Faculty
9:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
46/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 21
Value 4
Affordability 48
Selectivity 35

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College admits 72.4% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
72.4%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 8.9 pts since 2019
67.2%201971.2%202070.3%202178.2%202276.1%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $31,872 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$31,872
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
50%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
48%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$35,270
Room & Board (on-campus)
$14,174
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,064
Books & Supplies
$1,600
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,774
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,629
Total Cost of Attendance
$49,512

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $33,513
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $36,071
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $31,036
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $32,724
  • Over $110,000
    $26,604

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$19,512
Median percentile
$25,300
75% percentile
$35,222
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,414 ↓ $6,098
No Pell $14,746 ↓ $4,766
Dependent students $14,750 ↓ $4,762
Independent students $13,350 ↓ $6,162
Female students $14,799 ↓ $4,713
Male students $8,811 ↓ $10,701
Pell recipients: 16.8% (3,277 students)No Pell: 18.5% (3,602 students)Dependent students: 18.5% (3,603 students)Independent students: 16.7% (3,261 students)Female students: 18.5% (3,615 students)Male students: 11.0% (2,153 students)Overall Median$19,512
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,550, less than completers ($19,512), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

48% of students who start here finish within six years, and 65% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
48%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
65%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,845 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,845
Earning > $25K
73%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$41,500$42,000$43,000$43,500$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$28,900

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$31,800

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$35,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 26.2 pts across 6 years
51.8%1yr58.3%3yr76.3%5yr78.1%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 78% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 853 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 40% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
853
Part-Time
9%
First-Generation
40%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 79.7% 680
Black 11.4% 97
Hispanic 3.5% 30
Other 1.6% 14
Asian 1.2% 10
International 0.1% 1
White: 79.7% (680 students)Black: 11.4% (97 students)Hispanic: 3.5% (30 students)Other: 1.6% (14 students)Asian: 1.2% (10 students)International: 0.1% (1 students)Total853

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Saint Mary of the Woods, Indiana
Housing
Mostly residential 449 beds on campus
Adult Learners
28% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College offers a varied set of programs: 35 distinct programs across 17 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

8 Programs
7 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$8.4M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$47,972
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

54 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 5 9% $49,305
Associate Professors 9 17% $48,050
Assistant Professors 21 39% $51,046
Instructors 2 4% $33,508
Lecturers 17 31% $45,442

Pros & Cons of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

The questions families ask most about Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College hard to get into?
Admissions at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 72.4%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College?
72.4% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College cost?
Budget around $31,872 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $43,845 a year against a net price of $31,872, about 1.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College known for?
Mostly Rehabilitation, Rehabilitation, Special Education. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College graduates earn?
About $43,845 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College accredited?
Yes. Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College?
853 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College?
48% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College located?
Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College is located in Saint Mary of the Woods, Indiana.
What programs does Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College offer?
35 different programs, most commonly Rehabilitation, Rehabilitation, Special Education. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.