Ilisagvik College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Barrow, Alaska. It enrolls 126 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorNorthwest Commission on Colleges and Universities
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
80/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes83
Value82
Affordability42
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Ilisagvik College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.
Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,743 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$5,260
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$15,400
Books & Supplies
$800
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,860
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,860
Total Cost of Attendance
$14,377
What this means:
Only 8% of students at Ilisagvik College receive Pell grants. Most enrolled families don't qualify for need-based federal aid.
Graduation Rate & Retention
100% come back after first year. Students who arrive tend to stay, which is usually a good sign. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
100%
Returning for their second year
What this means:
High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $39,541 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$39,541
Earning > $25K
64%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
What this means:
Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$5.9 of median earnings 10 years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 126 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 68% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
126
Part-Time
68%
First-Generation
—
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
Other 78.6%99
White 7.9%10
Asian 6.4%8
Hispanic 4.0%5
Black 3.2%4
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Ilisagvik College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Ilisagvik College offers
a varied set of programs:
16 distinct programs across
6 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 7 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
7:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$40,079
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$11M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$73,247
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
10 instructional faculty across 2 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Associate Professors
3
30%
$83,639
Assistant Professors
7
70%
$69,322
Pros & Cons of Ilisagvik College
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Ilisagvik College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Most students don't qualify for need-based federal aid
No graduate programs offered at this institution
Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for:
Based on the data, Ilisagvik College is a fit for
families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Ilisagvik College
The questions families ask most about Ilisagvik College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
How much does Ilisagvik College cost?
Budget around $6,743 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ilisagvik College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $39,541 a year against a net price of $6,743, about 5.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Ilisagvik College known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Accounting, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Ilisagvik College graduates earn?
About $39,541 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Ilisagvik College accredited?
Yes. Ilisagvik College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
How many students attend Ilisagvik College?
126 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Ilisagvik College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Ilisagvik College located?
Ilisagvik College is located in Barrow, Alaska.
What programs does Ilisagvik College offer?
16 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Accounting, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Ilisagvik College?
7 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Alaska
Other colleges in Alaska share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Nursing
Business Administration
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.