Public Associate Good 57/100

Indian Hills Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Ottumwa, Iowa

About Indian Hills Community College

Thinking about Indian Hills Community College, a college in Iowa where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Indian Hills Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Ottumwa, Iowa. It enrolls 1,495 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
30.4%
Net Price
$10,693
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,507
Enrollment
1,495
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Other Academic Year

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
57/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 32
Value 52
Affordability 35
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Indian Hills Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,693 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,693
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
19%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$5,040
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$6,120
Room & Board (on-campus)
$7,752
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,720
Books & Supplies
$2,352
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,040
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,040
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,791

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,561
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,407
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $10,960
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,515
  • Over $110,000
    $15,397

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,834
10% percentile
$3,544
25% percentile
$10,500
Median percentile
$14,000
75% percentile
$22,227
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,398 ↓ $3,102
No Pell $6,500 ↓ $4,000
Dependent students $5,917 ↓ $4,583
Independent students $9,500 ↓ $1,000
Female students $7,865 ↓ $2,635
Male students $6,500 ↓ $4,000
Pell recipients: 16.9% (1,778 students)No Pell: 14.9% (1,563 students)Dependent students: 13.5% (1,422 students)Independent students: 21.7% (2,284 students)Female students: 18.0% (1,891 students)Male students: 14.9% (1,563 students)Overall Median$10,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($10,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

30% of students who start here finish within six years, and 59% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
30%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
59%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,507 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,507
Earning > $25K
66%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$38,000$39,000$39,500$40,000$41,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$28,900

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$40,600

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$29,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$41,800

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,700, about 29% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 26.3 pts across 6 years
44.2%1yr46.3%3yr59%5yr70.5%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 71% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,495 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,495
Part-Time
15%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 68.0% 1,017
Hispanic 10.0% 149
Black 9.0% 134
Other 5.4% 81
International 4.7% 70
Asian 2.1% 31
White: 68.0% (1,017 students)Hispanic: 10.0% (149 students)Black: 9.0% (134 students)Other: 5.4% (81 students)International: 4.7% (70 students)Asian: 2.1% (31 students)Total1,495

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Indian Hills Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Ottumwa, Iowa
Housing
Mostly residential 670 beds on campus
Adult Learners
9% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Other Academic Year scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Indian Hills Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 60 distinct programs across 21 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
14 Programs
6 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$15,915
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$3.2M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$55,632
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

117 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 37 32% $65,352
Associate Professors 29 25% $55,352
Instructors 43 37% $49,788
No Rank 8 7% $46,198

Pros & Cons of Indian Hills Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Indian Hills Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Indian Hills Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Indian Hills Community College

The questions families ask most about Indian Hills Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Indian Hills Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Indian Hills Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Indian Hills Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Indian Hills Community College cost?
Budget around $10,693 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Indian Hills Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,507 a year against a net price of $10,693, about 3.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Indian Hills Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Precision Metal Working, Vehicle Maintenance. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Indian Hills Community College graduates earn?
About $40,507 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Indian Hills Community College accredited?
Yes. Indian Hills Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Indian Hills Community College?
1,495 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Indian Hills Community College?
30% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Indian Hills Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Indian Hills Community College located?
Indian Hills Community College is located in Ottumwa, Iowa.
What programs does Indian Hills Community College offer?
60 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Precision Metal Working, Vehicle Maintenance. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Indian Hills Community College?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.