Public Associate Strong 82/100

Itawamba Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Fulton, Mississippi

About Itawamba Community College

Thinking about Itawamba Community College, a college in Mississippi where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Itawamba Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Fulton, Mississippi. It enrolls 4,167 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
33.8%
Net Price
$4,616
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,912
Enrollment
4,167
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
82/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 66
Value 84
Affordability 77
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Itawamba Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $4,616 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$4,616
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
47%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
11%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$3,420
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$5,820
Room & Board (on-campus)
$5,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,770
Books & Supplies
$1,554
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,176
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,450
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,079

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $3,623
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $4,094
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,144
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $7,914
  • Over $110,000
    $10,055

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,313
10% percentile
$2,325
25% percentile
$7,631
Median percentile
$8,275
75% percentile
$15,250
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $5,600 ↓ $2,031
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $2,131
Dependent students $5,000 ↓ $2,631
Independent students $8,700 ↑ $1,069
Female students $6,000 ↓ $1,631
Male students $4,594 ↓ $3,037
Pell recipients: 15.8% (1,207 students)No Pell: 15.5% (1,186 students)Dependent students: 14.1% (1,078 students)Independent students: 24.6% (1,876 students)Female students: 17.0% (1,294 students)Male students: 13.0% (990 students)Overall Median$7,631
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,684, less than completers ($7,631), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

34% of students who start here finish within six years, and 74% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
34%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
74%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,912 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,912
Earning > $25K
55%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$30,500$31,000$32,000$32,500$33,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$37,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$27,700

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$34,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$38,000

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $10,000, about 27% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 5.5 pts across 6 years
52.1%1yr52.2%3yr57.7%5yr57.6%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 58% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 4,167 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 41% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
4,167
Part-Time
23%
First-Generation
41%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 60.7% 2,531
Black 29.7% 1,237
Other 4.6% 193
Hispanic 3.8% 160
Asian 0.8% 32
White: 60.7% (2,531 students)Black: 29.7% (1,237 students)Other: 4.6% (193 students)Hispanic: 3.8% (160 students)Asian: 0.8% (32 students)Total4,167

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Itawamba Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Remote Fulton, Mississippi
Housing
Partly residential 1,246 beds available
Adult Learners
13% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Itawamba Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 68 distinct programs across 29 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
11 Programs
4 Programs
6 Programs
4 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$7,492
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$12M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$62,710
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

132 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 132 100% $63,047

Pros & Cons of Itawamba Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Itawamba Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Itawamba Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low.

Frequently Asked Questions about Itawamba Community College

The questions families ask most about Itawamba Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Itawamba Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Itawamba Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Itawamba Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Itawamba Community College cost?
Budget around $4,616 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Itawamba Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,912 a year against a net price of $4,616, about 7.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Itawamba Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Itawamba Community College graduates earn?
About $32,912 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Itawamba Community College accredited?
Yes. Itawamba Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Itawamba Community College?
4,167 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Itawamba Community College?
34% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Itawamba Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Itawamba Community College located?
Itawamba Community College is located in Fulton, Mississippi.
What programs does Itawamba Community College offer?
68 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Itawamba Community College?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.