Private For-Profit Certificate Good 67/100

LaBarberia Institute of Hair

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Mayfield Hts, Ohio

About LaBarberia Institute of Hair

Thinking about LaBarberia Institute of Hair, a college in Ohio where more students graduate in Personal Services than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

LaBarberia Institute of Hair is a private for-profit institution offering certificate degrees based in Mayfield Hts, Ohio. It enrolls 169 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
66.7%
Net Price
$9,162
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
169
Student : Faculty
19:1

Accreditor National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
67/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 41
Value —
Affordability 76
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, LaBarberia Institute of Hair admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,162 a year on average, it sits well below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$9,162
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
75%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
73%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$9,500
25% percentile
$20,000
Median percentile
$20,000
75% percentile
$20,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Dependent students $11,375 ↓ $8,625
Independent students $14,750 ↓ $5,250
Female students $7,917 ↓ $12,083
Male students $14,750 ↓ $5,250
Dependent students: 23.3% (4,663 students)Independent students: 30.2% (6,046 students)Female students: 16.2% (3,245 students)Male students: 30.2% (6,046 students)Overall Median$20,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,886, less than completers ($20,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

67% of students who start here finish within six years, and 50% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
67%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
50%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

LaBarberia Institute of Hair has not reported graduate earnings. Where that figure is missing, the programs section below is the better guide, since pay follows the field you study more closely than the college you attend.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
—
Earning > $25K
—
10 yrs after entry

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 169 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
169
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
47%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 84.6% 143
White 8.3% 14
Hispanic 5.3% 9
Other 1.8% 3
Black: 84.6% (143 students)White: 8.3% (14 students)Hispanic: 5.3% (9 students)Other: 1.8% (3 students)Total169

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at LaBarberia Institute of Hair. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Mayfield Hts, Ohio
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
48% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

LaBarberia Institute of Hair offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 19 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
19:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of LaBarberia Institute of Hair

No college is right for everyone. Here is where LaBarberia Institute of Hair is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, LaBarberia Institute of Hair is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about LaBarberia Institute of Hair

The questions families ask most about LaBarberia Institute of Hair, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is LaBarberia Institute of Hair hard to get into?
Not especially. LaBarberia Institute of Hair admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at LaBarberia Institute of Hair?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does LaBarberia Institute of Hair cost?
Budget around $9,162 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is LaBarberia Institute of Hair known for?
Mostly Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is LaBarberia Institute of Hair accredited?
Yes. LaBarberia Institute of Hair is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.
How many students attend LaBarberia Institute of Hair?
169 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at LaBarberia Institute of Hair?
67% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is LaBarberia Institute of Hair a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is LaBarberia Institute of Hair located?
LaBarberia Institute of Hair is located in Mayfield Hts, Ohio.
What programs does LaBarberia Institute of Hair offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at LaBarberia Institute of Hair?
19 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.