Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 60/100

LaGrange College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Lagrange, Georgia

About LaGrange College

Thinking about LaGrange College, a college in Georgia where more students graduate in Education than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

LaGrange College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Lagrange, Georgia. It enrolls 636 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
62.1%
Graduation
37.9%
Net Price
$20,875
Median Earnings (10yr)
$51,745
Enrollment
636
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
60/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 20
Value 41
Affordability 61
Selectivity 72

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

LaGrange College admits 62.1% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
62.1%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether LaGrange College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 14.4 pts since 2019
48.8%201959.7%202074.8%202159.1%202263.2%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,875 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,875
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
43%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
68%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$35,400
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,166
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,166
Books & Supplies
$1,200
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$2,850
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,900
Total Cost of Attendance
$49,681

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $20,764
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $19,322
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $18,718
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $18,707
  • Over $110,000
    $24,549

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,500
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$25,730
Median percentile
$26,001
75% percentile
$32,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $17,500 ↓ $8,230
No Pell $13,750 ↓ $11,980
Dependent students $15,000 ↓ $10,730
Independent students $22,500 ↓ $3,230
Female students $19,740 ↓ $5,990
Male students $12,000 ↓ $13,730
Pell recipients: 17.4% (4,481 students)No Pell: 13.7% (3,521 students)Dependent students: 14.9% (3,841 students)Independent students: 22.4% (5,761 students)Female students: 19.6% (5,054 students)Male students: 11.9% (3,073 students)Overall Median$25,730
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,750, less than completers ($25,730), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

38% of students who start here finish within six years, and 64% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
38%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
64%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $51,745 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$51,745
Earning > $25K
79%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$46,000$47,000$49,000$51,000$53,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$38,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$59,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$33,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$44,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$53,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $21,300, about 36% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 16.9 pts across 6 years
60.4%1yr68.1%3yr77%5yr77.3%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 77% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 636 students, a small, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
636
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
25%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 55.5% 353
Black 29.4% 187
Hispanic 7.2% 46
Other 5.7% 36
International 1.4% 9
Asian 0.6% 4
White: 55.5% (353 students)Black: 29.4% (187 students)Hispanic: 7.2% (46 students)Other: 5.7% (36 students)International: 1.4% (9 students)Asian: 0.6% (4 students)Total636

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at LaGrange College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Distant Lagrange, Georgia
Housing
Strongly residential 499 beds for 636 students
Adult Learners
4% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

LaGrange College offers a varied set of programs: 22 distinct programs across 13 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$115M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$62,220
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

53 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 19 36% $72,395
Associate Professors 15 28% $60,179
Assistant Professors 14 26% $54,994
Instructors 2 4% $46,780
Lecturers 3 6% $52,000

Pros & Cons of LaGrange College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where LaGrange College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, LaGrange College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about LaGrange College

The questions families ask most about LaGrange College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is LaGrange College hard to get into?
Admissions at LaGrange College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 62.1%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at LaGrange College?
62.1% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does LaGrange College cost?
Budget around $20,875 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is LaGrange College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $51,745 a year against a net price of $20,875, about 2.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is LaGrange College known for?
Mostly Nursing, Curriculum & Instruction, Teacher Education (K-12). Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do LaGrange College graduates earn?
About $51,745 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is LaGrange College accredited?
Yes. LaGrange College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend LaGrange College?
636 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at LaGrange College?
38% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is LaGrange College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is LaGrange College located?
LaGrange College is located in Lagrange, Georgia.
What programs does LaGrange College offer?
22 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Curriculum & Instruction, Teacher Education (K-12). If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at LaGrange College?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.