Private For-Profit Associate Good 69/100

Lamson Institute

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

San Antonio, Texas

About Lamson Institute

Thinking about Lamson Institute, a college in Texas where more students graduate in Construction than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lamson Institute is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in San Antonio, Texas. It enrolls 498 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
78.9%
Net Price
$26,587
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,015
Enrollment
498
Student : Faculty
28:1

Accreditor Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 91
Value 14
Affordability 42
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Lamson Institute admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $26,587 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$26,587
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
51%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
56%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $25,650
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $26,108
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $26,118
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $30,162
  • Over $110,000
    $30,873

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,800
10% percentile
$5,134
25% percentile
$7,853
Median percentile
$8,867
75% percentile
$9,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $7,600 ↓ $253
No Pell $7,600 ↓ $253
Dependent students $5,133 ↓ $2,720
Independent students $8,489 ↑ $636
Female students $7,600 ↓ $253
Male students $8,867 ↑ $1,014
Pell recipients: 16.8% (1,318 students)No Pell: 16.8% (1,318 students)Dependent students: 11.3% (890 students)Independent students: 18.7% (1,472 students)Female students: 16.8% (1,318 students)Male students: 19.6% (1,538 students)Overall Median$7,853
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $3,800, less than completers ($7,853), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

79% of students who start here finish within six years, and 85% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
79%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
85%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,015 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,015
Earning > $25K
61%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$37,500$38,500$40,000$41,000$42,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$31,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$47,900

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,600

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$43,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$52,300

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $16,300, about 34% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 8.2 pts across 6 years
36.5%1yr40.4%3yr39.4%5yr44.8%7yr
What this signals: Concerning. Only 45% of graduates are actively reducing principal even seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 498 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
498
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 66.9% 333
Black 16.1% 80
White 11.9% 59
Asian 1.8% 9
Other 1.0% 5
Hispanic: 66.9% (333 students)Black: 16.1% (80 students)White: 11.9% (59 students)Asian: 1.8% (9 students)Other: 1.0% (5 students)Total498

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lamson Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City San Antonio, Texas
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
56% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lamson Institute offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 3 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 28 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
28:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$46,121
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

11 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 11 100% $46,121

Pros & Cons of Lamson Institute

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lamson Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, Lamson Institute is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lamson Institute

The questions families ask most about Lamson Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Lamson Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Lamson Institute admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Lamson Institute?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Lamson Institute cost?
Budget around $26,587 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lamson Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,015 a year against a net price of $26,587, about 1.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lamson Institute known for?
Mostly Electrical and Power Transmission Installers, Heating, Practical Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Lamson Institute graduates earn?
About $38,015 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lamson Institute accredited?
Yes. Lamson Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Lamson Institute?
498 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Lamson Institute?
79% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lamson Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Lamson Institute located?
Lamson Institute is located in San Antonio, Texas.
What programs does Lamson Institute offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Electrical and Power Transmission Installers, Heating, Practical Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lamson Institute?
28 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.