Laurel Technical Institute is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Uniontown, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 515 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
79/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes80
Value54
Affordability69
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Laurel Technical Institute admits 76.9% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
76.9%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Laurel Technical Institute is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Getting more selective ↓
5.8 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $7,825 a year on average, it sits well below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$13,713
Room & Board (off-campus)
$3,620
Books & Supplies
$1,513
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$900
Total Cost of Attendance
$15,483
Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$7,273
$30,001 – $48,000
$5,672
$48,001 – $75,000
$7,275
$75,001 – $110,000
$7,293
Over $110,000
$15,033
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,92710%percentile
$5,50025%percentile
$12,000Medianpercentile
$13,67375%percentile
$19,60490%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,003
↓ $2,997
No Pell $12,000
—
Dependent students $9,679
↓ $2,321
Independent students $9,492
↓ $2,508
Female students $9,196
↓ $2,804
Male students $11,918
—
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,750, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
60% of students who start here finish within six years, and 77% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
60%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
77%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $30,819 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$30,819
Earning > $25K
52%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Gender
Female graduates
$21,000
Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.
Male graduates
$40,800
Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.
The gender gap:
Male graduates earn $19,800, about 49% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
7.4 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Moderate. Only 59% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 515 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
515
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
47%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 80.0%412
Black 12.0%62
Other 5.2%27
Hispanic 0.8%4
Asian 0.4%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Laurel Technical Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Laurel Technical Institute offers
a varied set of programs:
12 distinct programs across
7 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$55,422
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
40 instructional faculty across 1 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Instructors
40
100%
$55,422
Pros & Cons of Laurel Technical Institute
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Laurel Technical Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for:
Based on the data, Laurel Technical Institute is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Laurel Technical Institute
The questions families ask most about Laurel Technical Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Laurel Technical Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Laurel Technical Institute admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 76.9%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Laurel Technical Institute?
76.9% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Laurel Technical Institute cost?
Budget around $7,825 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Laurel Technical Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $30,819 a year against a net price of $7,825, about 3.9 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Laurel Technical Institute known for?
Mostly Cosmetology, Nursing, Electrical and Power Transmission Installers. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Laurel Technical Institute graduates earn?
About $30,819 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Laurel Technical Institute accredited?
Yes. Laurel Technical Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Laurel Technical Institute?
515 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Laurel Technical Institute?
60% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Laurel Technical Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Laurel Technical Institute located?
Laurel Technical Institute is located in Uniontown, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Laurel Technical Institute offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Cosmetology, Nursing, Electrical and Power Transmission Installers. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Laurel Technical Institute?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Pennsylvania
Other colleges in Pennsylvania share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.