Private Nonprofit Certificate Good 60/100

Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Reading, Pennsylvania

About Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences

Thinking about Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences, a college in Pennsylvania where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is a private nonprofit institution offering certificate degrees based in Reading, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 294 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
29.3%
Graduation
69.9%
Net Price
$28,415
Median Earnings (10yr)
$74,572
Enrollment
294
Student : Faculty
7:1

Accreditor Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
60/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 53
Value 36
Affordability 32
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences admits 29.3% of applicants, which makes it genuinely competitive, so your application needs to be strong.

Acceptance Rate
29.3%
Selective
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↓ 2.4 pts since 2019
22.9%201933%202028.6%202112.9%202220.4%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $28,415 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$28,415
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
39%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
60%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$12,225
Room & Board (on-campus)
$10,248
Room & Board (off-campus)
$12,494
Books & Supplies
$1,210
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$10,643
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$10,643
Total Cost of Attendance
$29,377

Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $25,732
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $26,679
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $29,377
  • Over $110,000
    $29,377

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,375
10% percentile
$6,926
25% percentile
$20,885
Median percentile
$16,266
75% percentile
$18,915
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,625 ↓ $4,260
No Pell $18,500 ↓ $2,385
Dependent students $15,250 ↓ $5,635
Independent students $19,949 ↓ $936
Pell recipients: 23.6% (4,937 students)No Pell: 26.3% (5,494 students)Dependent students: 21.7% (4,529 students)Independent students: 28.4% (5,925 students)Overall Median$20,885
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $7,500, less than completers ($20,885), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

70% of students who start here finish within six years, and 78% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
70%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
78%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $74,572 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$74,572
Earning > $25K
88%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$71,500$72,500$73,500$74,000$75,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 9.4 pts across 6 years
77.9%1yr80.3%3yr83.2%5yr87.2%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 87% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 294 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 53% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
294
Part-Time
32%
First-Generation
53%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 64.6% 190
Hispanic 20.8% 61
Black 7.8% 23
Asian 3.4% 10
Other 3.1% 9
White: 64.6% (190 students)Hispanic: 20.8% (61 students)Black: 7.8% (23 students)Asian: 3.4% (10 students)Other: 3.1% (9 students)Total294

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Reading, Pennsylvania
Housing
Limited on-campus housing 32 beds
Adult Learners
50% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences offers a focused set of programs: 2 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 7 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
7:1
Students per instructional faculty member

Pros & Cons of Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Selective admissions, solid academic profile expected
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
Best for: Based on the data, Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences

The questions families ask most about Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences hard to get into?
Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is highly selective. Its acceptance rate is 29.3%, so admitted students generally have strong grades, competitive test scores, and a well-rounded application.
What is the acceptance rate at Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences?
29.3% of applicants are admitted. Fewer than a third of applicants get in, so treat it as a stretch rather than a safe bet. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences cost?
Budget around $28,415 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $74,572 a year against a net price of $28,415, about 2.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences known for?
Mostly Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences graduates earn?
About $74,572 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences accredited?
Yes. Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.
How many students attend Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences?
294 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences?
70% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences located?
Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences is located in Reading, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences offer?
2 different programs, most commonly Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Reading Hospital School of Health Sciences?
7 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.