Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 56/100

Lenoir-Rhyne University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Hickory, North Carolina

About Lenoir-Rhyne University

Thinking about Lenoir-Rhyne University, a college in North Carolina where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lenoir-Rhyne University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Hickory, North Carolina. It enrolls 1,359 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
84.6%
Graduation
46.6%
Net Price
$20,689
Median Earnings (10yr)
$45,543
Enrollment
1,359
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
56/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 33
Value 28
Affordability 57
Selectivity 34

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Lenoir-Rhyne University admits 84.6% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
84.6%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Lenoir-Rhyne University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 2.7 pts since 2019
77.9%201976.6%202085.7%202182.9%202280.7%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $20,689 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$20,689
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
39%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
56%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$31,900
Room & Board (on-campus)
$13,400
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,400
Books & Supplies
$1,360
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,250
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,250
Total Cost of Attendance
$44,621

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $18,669
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $18,768
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $17,209
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $21,878
  • Over $110,000
    $25,866

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$6,500
25% percentile
$26,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$36,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $16,750 ↓ $9,250
No Pell $15,000 ↓ $11,000
Dependent students $15,340 ↓ $10,660
Independent students $20,000 ↓ $6,000
Female students $16,187 ↓ $9,813
Male students $14,652 ↓ $11,348
Pell recipients: 17.1% (4,447 students)No Pell: 15.3% (3,982 students)Dependent students: 15.7% (4,073 students)Independent students: 20.4% (5,310 students)Female students: 16.5% (4,298 students)Male students: 15.0% (3,890 students)Overall Median$26,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,750, less than completers ($26,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

47% of students who start here finish within six years, and 73% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
47%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
73%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $45,543 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$45,543
Earning > $25K
78%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$44,500$45,500$46,500$48,000$49,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$42,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$46,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$39,400

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$43,600

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$46,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 15.7 pts across 6 years
72.2%1yr77%3yr82.4%5yr87.9%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 88% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,359 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,359
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
32%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 60.8% 826
Black 14.0% 190
Hispanic 8.8% 120
International 7.2% 98
Other 4.6% 62
Asian 1.9% 26
White: 60.8% (826 students)Black: 14.0% (190 students)Hispanic: 8.8% (120 students)International: 7.2% (98 students)Other: 4.6% (62 students)Asian: 1.9% (26 students)Total1,359

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lenoir-Rhyne University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Small City Hickory, North Carolina
Housing
Strongly residential 1,017 beds for 1,359 students
Adult Learners
6% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lenoir-Rhyne University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 50 distinct programs across 20 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

7 Programs
8 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
3 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$213M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$69,792
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

127 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 37 29% $78,567
Associate Professors 33 26% $70,915
Assistant Professors 43 34% $63,511
Instructors 14 11% $63,250

Pros & Cons of Lenoir-Rhyne University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lenoir-Rhyne University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
Best for: Based on the data, Lenoir-Rhyne University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lenoir-Rhyne University

The questions families ask most about Lenoir-Rhyne University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Lenoir-Rhyne University hard to get into?
Not especially. Lenoir-Rhyne University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 84.6%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Lenoir-Rhyne University?
84.6% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Lenoir-Rhyne University cost?
Budget around $20,689 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lenoir-Rhyne University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $45,543 a year against a net price of $20,689, about 2.2 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lenoir-Rhyne University known for?
Mostly Business Administration, Rehabilitation, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Lenoir-Rhyne University graduates earn?
About $45,543 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Lenoir-Rhyne University accredited?
Yes. Lenoir-Rhyne University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Lenoir-Rhyne University?
1,359 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Lenoir-Rhyne University?
47% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lenoir-Rhyne University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Lenoir-Rhyne University located?
Lenoir-Rhyne University is located in Hickory, North Carolina.
What programs does Lenoir-Rhyne University offer?
50 different programs, most commonly Business Administration, Rehabilitation, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lenoir-Rhyne University?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.