Private For-Profit Graduate Strong 77/100

Lionel University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Carpinteria, California

About Lionel University

Thinking about Lionel University, a college in California where more students graduate in Recreation & Fitness than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Lionel University is a private for-profit institution offering graduate degrees based in Carpinteria, California. It enrolls 370 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
—
Net Price
$29,453
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
370
Student : Faculty
24:1

Accreditor Distance Education Accrediting Commission
Academic Calendar Quarter

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
77/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 81
Value —
Affordability 35
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Lionel University does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $29,453 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$29,453
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
45%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
66%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$15,265
Room & Board (off-campus)
$19,431
Books & Supplies
$0
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$14,040
Total Cost of Attendance
$31,812

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,462
25% percentile
$12,668
Median percentile
$9,500
75% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,334 ↓ $6,334
No Pell $3,500 ↓ $9,168
Dependent students $1,834 ↓ $10,834
Independent students $6,334 ↓ $6,334
Female students $6,334 ↓ $6,334
Male students $6,334 ↓ $6,334
Pell recipients: 20.7% (2,616 students)No Pell: 11.4% (1,446 students)Dependent students: 6.0% (758 students)Independent students: 20.7% (2,616 students)Female students: 20.7% (2,616 students)Male students: 20.7% (2,616 students)Overall Median$12,668
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,000, less than completers ($12,668), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

76% come back after first year. A sizeable share do not return for year two. Worth asking why. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
—
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
76%
Returning for their second year

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 370 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 47% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
370
Part-Time
29%
First-Generation
47%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 46.2% 171
Black 29.7% 110
Hispanic 13.2% 49
Other 8.6% 32
Asian 1.4% 5
International 0.3% 1
White: 46.2% (171 students)Black: 29.7% (110 students)Hispanic: 13.2% (49 students)Other: 8.6% (32 students)Asian: 1.4% (5 students)International: 0.3% (1 students)Total370

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Lionel University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Midsize Suburb Carpinteria, California
Housing
Commuter campus Online-only, no physical campus
Adult Learners
94% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Quarter scheduling structure
Designation
Online-only institution

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Biology graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Lionel University offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 2 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 24 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.

Student : Faculty
24:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$31,200
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Lionel University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Lionel University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Modest first-year retention
  • Most students take on federal loans
Best for: Based on the data, Lionel University is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Lionel University

The questions families ask most about Lionel University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Lionel University cost?
Budget around $29,453 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Lionel University known for?
Mostly Kinesiology, Physiology, Kinesiology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lionel University accredited?
Yes. Lionel University is accredited by the Distance Education Accrediting Commission.
How many students attend Lionel University?
370 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Lionel University a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Lionel University located?
Lionel University is located in Carpinteria, California.
What programs does Lionel University offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Kinesiology, Physiology, Kinesiology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Lionel University?
24 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.