Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Nashville, Tennessee. It enrolls 805 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic CalendarContinuous
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Fair
47/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes—
Value—
Affordability24
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
As a two-year college, Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.
Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.
Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
26%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
48%
Borrowing to attend
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$3,42010%percentile
$6,81825%percentile
$6,840Medianpercentile
$6,84075%percentile
$6,84090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,840
—
No Pell $6,840
—
Female students $6,840
—
Male students $6,840
—
What this means:
26% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.
Graduation Rate & Retention
79% of students who start here finish within six years. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
79%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means:
Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $62,978 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$62,978
Earning > $25K
92%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 805 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 55% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
805
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
55%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 65.7%529
Hispanic 13.7%110
Black 13.3%107
Other 7.3%59
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityNashville, Tennessee
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
97%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuousscheduling structure
What You Can Study
Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting offers
a focused set of programs:
1 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 87 students for every instructor here: high, so expect big lectures and to work harder for one-to-one time.
Student : Faculty
87:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$58,165
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
11 instructional faculty across 1 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Instructors
11
100%
$58,165
Pros & Cons of Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for:
Based on the data, Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting
The questions families ask most about Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting hard to get into?
Not especially. Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
What is Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting known for?
Mostly Allied Health Diagnostic. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting graduates earn?
About $62,978 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting accredited?
Yes. Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting?
805 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting?
79% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting located?
Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting is located in Nashville, Tennessee.
What programs does Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Allied Health Diagnostic. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Meridian Institute of Surgical Assisting?
87 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Tennessee
Other colleges in Tennessee share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Practical Nursing
Precision Metal Working
Cosmetology
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.