Public Certificate Strong 77/100

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Jackson, Tennessee

About Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson

Thinking about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson, a college in Tennessee where more students graduate in Transportation than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson is a public institution offering certificate degrees based in Jackson, Tennessee. It enrolls 563 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
55.4%
Net Price
$8,472
Median Earnings (10yr)
$38,383
Enrollment
563
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
77/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 89
Value 62
Affordability 34
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $8,472 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$8,472
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
15%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $8,439
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $8,798
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $6,469
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,732
What this means: 15% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

55% of students who start here finish within six years, and 82% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
55%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
82%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $38,383 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$38,383
Earning > $25K
63%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$34,000$36,000$37,000$39,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$27,700

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$35,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $7,400, about 21% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$4.5 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 563 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 56% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
563
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
56%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 43.3% 244
Black 40.7% 229
Hispanic 8.2% 46
Other 4.6% 26
International 0.7% 4
Asian 0.4% 2
White: 43.3% (244 students)Black: 40.7% (229 students)Hispanic: 8.2% (46 students)Other: 4.6% (26 students)International: 0.7% (4 students)Asian: 0.4% (2 students)Total563

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Jackson, Tennessee
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
8% of students are 25 or older
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson offers a varied set of programs: 14 distinct programs across 8 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$12,832
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student

Pros & Cons of Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson

The questions families ask most about Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson hard to get into?
Not especially. Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson cost?
Budget around $8,472 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $38,383 a year against a net price of $8,472, about 4.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson known for?
Mostly Ground Transportation, Practical Nursing, Precision Metal Working. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson graduates earn?
About $38,383 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson accredited?
Yes. Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson?
563 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson?
55% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson located?
Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson is located in Jackson, Tennessee.
What programs does Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson offer?
14 different programs, most commonly Ground Transportation, Practical Nursing, Precision Metal Working. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Tennessee College of Applied Technology-Jackson?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.