Methodist College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Peoria, Illinois. It enrolls 245 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Good
56/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes33
Value9
Affordability44
Selectivity90
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Methodist College admits 38.9% of applicants, which makes it genuinely competitive, so your application needs to be strong.
Acceptance Rate
38.9%
Selective
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyNot ConsideredStandardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.
5-Year Admission Trend
Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Methodist College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.
Getting more selective ↓
12.8 pts
since 2019
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $41,787 a year on average, it sits above what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That is a serious number, so the earnings further down matter more here than usual. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$18,008
Room & Board (on-campus)
$17,280
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,614
Books & Supplies
$1,700
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$10,685
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$10,685
Total Cost of Attendance
$46,874
Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$6,00010%percentile
$14,75025%percentile
$31,250Medianpercentile
$40,25575%percentile
$47,00090%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $30,500
↓ $750
No Pell $23,509
↓ $7,741
Dependent students $24,000
↓ $7,250
Independent students $30,931
↓ $319
Female students $27,250
↓ $4,000
Male students $25,138
↓ $6,112
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $12,500, less than completers ($31,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
66% of students who start here finish within six years, and 80% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
66%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
80%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $69,800 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$69,800
Earning > $25K
87%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Stable ↑
1.2 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 245 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 35% are the first in their family to go to college, and 46% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.
Total Enrolled
245
Part-Time
46%
First-Generation
35%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 62.0%152
Black 24.5%60
Other 5.3%13
Hispanic 2.9%7
Asian 2.5%6
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Methodist College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Methodist College offers
a focused set of programs:
8 distinct programs across
2 majors.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
There are 8 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.
Student : Faculty
8:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$46,625
9-month equivalent across all ranks
Faculty by Rank
22 instructional faculty across 4 ranks.
The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.
Rank
Faculty Count
Share
Avg Salary
Full Professors
1
5%
$63,102
Associate Professors
3
14%
$53,586
Assistant Professors
5
23%
$51,277
Instructors
13
59%
$41,963
Pros & Cons of Methodist College
No college is right for everyone. Here is where Methodist College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.
Best for:
Based on the data, Methodist College is a fit for
working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Methodist College
The questions families ask most about Methodist College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Methodist College hard to get into?
Methodist College is selective but not extremely competitive. Its acceptance rate is 38.9%. Strong academic credentials and a thoughtful application materially improve your odds.
What is the acceptance rate at Methodist College?
38.9% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Methodist College cost?
Budget around $41,787 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Methodist College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $69,800 a year against a net price of $41,787, about 1.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Methodist College known for?
Mostly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Methodist College graduates earn?
About $69,800 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Methodist College accredited?
Yes. Methodist College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Methodist College?
245 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Methodist College?
66% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Methodist College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Methodist College located?
Methodist College is located in Peoria, Illinois.
What programs does Methodist College offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Practical Nursing, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Methodist College?
8 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Illinois
Other colleges in Illinois share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Business Administration
Public Health
Management Information Systems
Related Guides
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.