Public Bachelor's Strong 84/100

Miami Dade College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Miami, Florida

About Miami Dade College

Thinking about Miami Dade College, a college in Florida where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Miami Dade College is a public institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Miami, Florida. It enrolls 46,182 students (a very large student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
26.2%
Net Price
$5,463
Median Earnings (10yr)
$40,654
Enrollment
46,182
Student : Faculty
17:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
84/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 69
Value 88
Affordability 76
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Miami Dade College does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $5,463 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$5,463
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
50%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
3%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$2,838
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$9,661
Room & Board (off-campus)
$27,262
Books & Supplies
$1,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$5,898
Total Cost of Attendance
$13,567

Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,822
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $5,314
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,613
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $9,530
  • Over $110,000
    $9,180

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,000
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$9,252
Median percentile
$14,500
75% percentile
$27,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $8,100 ↓ $1,152
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $3,752
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $3,752
Independent students $9,500 ↑ $248
Female students $7,899 ↓ $1,353
Male students $6,625 ↓ $2,627
Pell recipients: 18.8% (1,738 students)No Pell: 12.8% (1,180 students)Dependent students: 12.8% (1,180 students)Independent students: 22.0% (2,038 students)Female students: 18.3% (1,695 students)Male students: 15.4% (1,421 students)Overall Median$9,252
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,500, close to what completers borrow ($9,252) but without the degree to show for it.

Graduation Rate & Retention

26% of students who start here finish within six years. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
26%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $40,654 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$40,654
Earning > $25K
65%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$32,000$34,000$37,000$39,000$42,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,800

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$34,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$39,500

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$47,700

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,800, about 17% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 17.0 pts across 6 years
45.1%1yr51.5%3yr60.3%5yr62%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 62% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 46,182 students, a sprawling student community. Worth knowing: 49% are the first in their family to go to college, and 52% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
46,182
Part-Time
52%
First-Generation
49%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 70.6% 32,604
Black 15.2% 6,997
International 8.3% 3,833
White 3.4% 1,570
Other 1.0% 443
Asian 0.9% 425
Hispanic: 70.6% (32,604 students)Black: 15.2% (6,997 students)International: 8.3% (3,833 students)White: 3.4% (1,570 students)Other: 1.0% (443 students)Asian: 0.9% (425 students)Total46,182

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Miami Dade College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Miami, Florida
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
25% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Miami Dade College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 70 distinct programs across 20 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
14 Programs
9 Programs
8 Programs
4 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 17 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
17:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$4,138
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$271M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$70,883
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

667 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 175 26% $84,153
Associate Professors 255 38% $72,387
Assistant Professors 142 21% $62,279
Instructors 95 14% $55,261

Pros & Cons of Miami Dade College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Miami Dade College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Wide variety of programs and student life
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Class sizes are on the higher side
  • Large institutional setting can feel impersonal
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • Earnings outcomes are on the lower side
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
Best for: Based on the data, Miami Dade College is a fit for families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students who want a large campus with breadth and variety.

Frequently Asked Questions about Miami Dade College

The questions families ask most about Miami Dade College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Miami Dade College cost?
Budget around $5,463 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Miami Dade College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $40,654 a year against a net price of $5,463, about 7.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Miami Dade College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Miami Dade College graduates earn?
About $40,654 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Miami Dade College accredited?
Yes. Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Miami Dade College?
46,182 students. Large, so expect big lectures and more independence in finding your own footing. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Miami Dade College?
26% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Miami Dade College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Miami Dade College located?
Miami Dade College is located in Miami, Florida.
What programs does Miami Dade College offer?
70 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Nursing, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Miami Dade College?
17 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.