Public Associate Strong 76/100

Mitchell Technical College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Mitchell, South Dakota

About Mitchell Technical College

Thinking about Mitchell Technical College, a college in South Dakota where more students graduate in Construction than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Mitchell Technical College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Mitchell, South Dakota. It enrolls 990 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
67.5%
Net Price
$13,460
Median Earnings (10yr)
$50,743
Enrollment
990
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
76/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 89
Value 52
Affordability 40
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Mitchell Technical College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $13,460 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$13,460
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
32%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
42%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$7,524
Room & Board (off-campus)
$6,800
Books & Supplies
$385
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,650
Total Cost of Attendance
$16,994

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,750
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,505
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $12,945
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $16,044
  • Over $110,000
    $16,493

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,750
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$12,000
Median percentile
$12,583
75% percentile
$20,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $9,165 ↓ $2,835
No Pell $7,292 ↓ $4,708
Dependent students $7,383 ↓ $4,617
Independent students $10,687 ↓ $1,313
Female students $10,519 ↓ $1,481
Male students $7,348 ↓ $4,652
Pell recipients: 17.5% (2,099 students)No Pell: 13.9% (1,670 students)Dependent students: 14.1% (1,691 students)Independent students: 20.4% (2,448 students)Female students: 20.1% (2,409 students)Male students: 14.0% (1,683 students)Overall Median$12,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($12,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

67% of students who start here finish within six years, and 84% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
67%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
84%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $50,743 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$50,743
Earning > $25K
77%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$47,000$48,000$49,000$50,000$51,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,500

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$53,000

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$37,600

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$46,300

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$57,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $23,500, about 44% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 3.5 pts across 6 years
80.9%1yr82%3yr81.6%5yr84.4%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 84% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 990 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 32% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
990
Part-Time
17%
First-Generation
32%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 88.2% 873
Other 6.4% 63
Hispanic 2.9% 29
Asian 0.7% 7
Black 0.5% 5
International 0.3% 3
White: 88.2% (873 students)Other: 6.4% (63 students)Hispanic: 2.9% (29 students)Asian: 0.7% (7 students)Black: 0.5% (5 students)International: 0.3% (3 students)Total990

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Mitchell Technical College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Town: Remote Mitchell, South Dakota
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
12% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Mitchell Technical College offers a varied set of programs: 34 distinct programs across 11 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
4 Programs
5 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
  • Human $49K ($35K–$63K)
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$9,692
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$4.9M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$67,634
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

73 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 73 100% $67,634

Pros & Cons of Mitchell Technical College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Mitchell Technical College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
Best for: Based on the data, Mitchell Technical College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Mitchell Technical College

The questions families ask most about Mitchell Technical College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Mitchell Technical College hard to get into?
Not especially. Mitchell Technical College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Mitchell Technical College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Mitchell Technical College cost?
Budget around $13,460 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Mitchell Technical College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $50,743 a year against a net price of $13,460, about 3.8 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Mitchell Technical College known for?
Mostly Electrical and Power Transmission Installers, Electrical and Power Transmission Installers, Agricultural Mechanization. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Mitchell Technical College graduates earn?
About $50,743 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Mitchell Technical College accredited?
Yes. Mitchell Technical College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Mitchell Technical College?
990 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Mitchell Technical College?
67% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Mitchell Technical College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Mitchell Technical College located?
Mitchell Technical College is located in Mitchell, South Dakota.
What programs does Mitchell Technical College offer?
34 different programs, most commonly Electrical and Power Transmission Installers, Electrical and Power Transmission Installers, Agricultural Mechanization. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Mitchell Technical College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.