Private For-Profit Associate Strong 71/100

MTI College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Sacramento, California

About MTI College

Thinking about MTI College, a college in California where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

MTI College is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Sacramento, California. It enrolls 2,000 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
63.4%
Graduation
68%
Net Price
$21,740
Median Earnings (10yr)
$45,328
Enrollment
2,000
Student : Faculty
20:1

Accreditor Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Academic Calendar Continuous

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 86
Value 29
Affordability 45
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

MTI College admits 63.4% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
63.4%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether MTI College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 0.9 pts since 2019
81%201980.2%202095.8%202194.1%202281.9%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $21,740 a year on average, it sits in line with what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$21,740
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
47%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
30%
Borrowing to attend

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $21,622
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $21,129
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $22,715
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $23,120

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$2,649
10% percentile
$4,750
25% percentile
$8,836
Median percentile
$11,053
75% percentile
$14,522
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,755 ↓ $2,081
No Pell $9,359 ↑ $523
Dependent students $6,580 ↓ $2,256
Independent students $7,307 ↓ $1,529
Female students $7,043 ↓ $1,793
Male students $7,216 ↓ $1,620
Pell recipients: 15.3% (1,349 students)No Pell: 21.1% (1,868 students)Dependent students: 14.9% (1,314 students)Independent students: 16.5% (1,459 students)Female students: 15.9% (1,406 students)Male students: 16.3% (1,441 students)Overall Median$8,836
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,360, less than completers ($8,836), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

68% of students who start here finish within six years, and 79% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
68%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
79%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $45,328 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$45,328
Earning > $25K
66%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$35,000$38,000$41,000$44,000$47,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$32,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$39,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$29,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$40,000

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$43,100

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,500, about 17% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Stable ↑ 3.2 pts across 6 years
48.1%1yr54.1%3yr52.3%5yr51.2%7yr
What this signals: Moderate. Only 51% of graduates are paying down principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,000 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college, and 43% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
2,000
Part-Time
43%
First-Generation
48%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 36.5% 730
White 28.0% 560
Hispanic 23.1% 461
Other 8.9% 178
Asian 3.1% 62
Black: 36.5% (730 students)White: 28.0% (560 students)Hispanic: 23.1% (461 students)Other: 8.9% (178 students)Asian: 3.1% (62 students)Total2,000

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at MTI College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Sacramento, California
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
46% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Continuous scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Personal Services graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

MTI College offers a varied set of programs: 10 distinct programs across 5 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 20 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
20:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$35,530
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

15 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 15 100% $35,530

Pros & Cons of MTI College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where MTI College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • Low typical debt at graduation
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for: Based on the data, MTI College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about MTI College

The questions families ask most about MTI College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is MTI College hard to get into?
Admissions at MTI College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 63.4%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at MTI College?
63.4% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does MTI College cost?
Budget around $21,740 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is MTI College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $45,328 a year against a net price of $21,740, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is MTI College known for?
Mostly Clinical/Medical Laboratory, Medical Assisting, Cosmetology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do MTI College graduates earn?
About $45,328 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is MTI College accredited?
Yes. MTI College is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.
How many students attend MTI College?
2,000 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at MTI College?
68% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is MTI College a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is MTI College located?
MTI College is located in Sacramento, California.
What programs does MTI College offer?
10 different programs, most commonly Clinical/Medical Laboratory, Medical Assisting, Cosmetology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at MTI College?
20 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.