Public Associate Good 69/100

North Iowa Area Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Mason City, Iowa

About North Iowa Area Community College

Thinking about North Iowa Area Community College, a college in Iowa where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

North Iowa Area Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Mason City, Iowa. It enrolls 1,320 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
35.3%
Net Price
$10,010
Median Earnings (10yr)
$43,462
Enrollment
1,320
Student : Faculty
21:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
69/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 65
Value 59
Affordability 36
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, North Iowa Area Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $10,010 a year on average, it sits below what public colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$10,010
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
24%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
20%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$6,653
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$9,551
Room & Board (on-campus)
$8,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$7,758
Books & Supplies
$1,830
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,042
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,410
Total Cost of Attendance
$17,040

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $8,471
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $7,723
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,644
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $12,376
  • Over $110,000
    $13,705

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$1,750
10% percentile
$3,500
25% percentile
$9,500
Median percentile
$10,096
75% percentile
$15,500
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $6,246 ↓ $3,254
No Pell $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Dependent students $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Independent students $7,771 ↓ $1,729
Female students $6,500 ↓ $3,000
Male students $5,500 ↓ $4,000
Pell recipients: 16.9% (1,603 students)No Pell: 14.9% (1,412 students)Dependent students: 14.9% (1,412 students)Independent students: 21.0% (1,994 students)Female students: 17.6% (1,668 students)Male students: 14.9% (1,412 students)Overall Median$9,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $5,500, less than completers ($9,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

35% of students who start here finish within six years, and 70% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
35%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
70%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $43,462 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$43,462
Earning > $25K
72%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$39,000$40,000$41,000$43,000$44,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$33,200

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$42,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$32,200

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$38,700

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$45,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,200, about 22% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 18.0 pts across 6 years
55.6%1yr63.1%3yr67.6%5yr73.6%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 74% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,320 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 31% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,320
Part-Time
21%
First-Generation
31%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 75.7% 999
Hispanic 9.2% 121
Black 5.3% 70
International 4.5% 59
Other 4.1% 54
Asian 0.8% 11
White: 75.7% (999 students)Hispanic: 9.2% (121 students)Black: 5.3% (70 students)International: 4.5% (59 students)Other: 4.1% (54 students)Asian: 0.8% (11 students)Total1,320

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at North Iowa Area Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Mason City, Iowa
Housing
Partly residential 400 beds available
Adult Learners
10% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

North Iowa Area Community College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 44 distinct programs across 16 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
8 Programs
6 Programs
9 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 21 students for every instructor here: on the higher side, so larger classes are common.

Student : Faculty
21:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$16,148
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$37M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$67,345
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

65 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 1 2% $70,465
Lecturers 62 95% $67,205
No Rank 2 3% $70,115

Pros & Cons of North Iowa Area Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where North Iowa Area Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Open admissions
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Low typical debt at graduation
CONS
  • Larger class sizes than typical
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, North Iowa Area Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about North Iowa Area Community College

The questions families ask most about North Iowa Area Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is North Iowa Area Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. North Iowa Area Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at North Iowa Area Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does North Iowa Area Community College cost?
Budget around $10,010 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is North Iowa Area Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $43,462 a year against a net price of $10,010, about 4.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is North Iowa Area Community College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do North Iowa Area Community College graduates earn?
About $43,462 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is North Iowa Area Community College accredited?
Yes. North Iowa Area Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend North Iowa Area Community College?
1,320 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at North Iowa Area Community College?
35% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is North Iowa Area Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is North Iowa Area Community College located?
North Iowa Area Community College is located in Mason City, Iowa.
What programs does North Iowa Area Community College offer?
44 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Practical Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at North Iowa Area Community College?
21 students per instructor. On the high side, so expect big classes and to seek out contact time yourself. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.