Public Associate Good 62/100

Northeastern Technical College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Cheraw, South Carolina

About Northeastern Technical College

Thinking about Northeastern Technical College, a college in South Carolina where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Northeastern Technical College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Cheraw, South Carolina. It enrolls 921 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
12.8%
Net Price
$6,913
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,141
Enrollment
921
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 26
Value 63
Affordability 59
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Northeastern Technical College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $6,913 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$6,913
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
35%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees (in-state)
$5,664
Tuition & Fees (out-of-state)
$6,024
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,066
Books & Supplies
$1,700
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,262
Total Cost of Attendance
$18,221

Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $7,012
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $5,751
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,130
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $10,469
  • Over $110,000
    $10,201
What this means: 35% of students receive Pell grants. Most cost is borne by families above Pell thresholds. Verify your individual aid offer before deciding.

Graduation Rate & Retention

13% of students who start here finish within six years, and 65% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
13%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
65%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,141 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,141
Earning > $25K
54%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$28,500$29,500$30,500$31,500$32,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$24,000

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$33,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,100, about 27% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$4.6 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 921 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 55% are the first in their family to go to college, and 77% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
921
Part-Time
77%
First-Generation
55%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 53.5% 493
White 34.7% 320
Other 6.5% 60
Hispanic 4.6% 42
Asian 0.3% 3
Black: 53.5% (493 students)White: 34.7% (320 students)Other: 6.5% (60 students)Hispanic: 4.6% (42 students)Asian: 0.3% (3 students)Total921

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Northeastern Technical College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Cheraw, South Carolina
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
35% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Business graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Northeastern Technical College offers a focused set of programs: 8 distinct programs across 7 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
2 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$6,078
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Endowment
$30,678
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$49,899
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

32 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
No Rank 32 100% $49,899

Pros & Cons of Northeastern Technical College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Northeastern Technical College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • First-gen-friendly student body
  • Flexible part-time enrollment options
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Northeastern Technical College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Northeastern Technical College

The questions families ask most about Northeastern Technical College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Northeastern Technical College hard to get into?
Not especially. Northeastern Technical College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Northeastern Technical College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Northeastern Technical College cost?
Budget around $6,913 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northeastern Technical College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,141 a year against a net price of $6,913, about 4.6 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Northeastern Technical College known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Business, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Northeastern Technical College graduates earn?
About $32,141 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northeastern Technical College accredited?
Yes. Northeastern Technical College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
How many students attend Northeastern Technical College?
921 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Northeastern Technical College?
13% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Northeastern Technical College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Northeastern Technical College located?
Northeastern Technical College is located in Cheraw, South Carolina.
What programs does Northeastern Technical College offer?
8 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Business, Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Northeastern Technical College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.