Public Associate Strong 79/100

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Minden, Louisiana

About Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College

Thinking about Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College, a college in Louisiana where more students graduate in Engineering Tech than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Minden, Louisiana. It enrolls 866 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
42.3%
Net Price
$9,256
Median Earnings (10yr)
$32,503
Enrollment
866
Student : Faculty
16:1

Accreditor Council on Occupational Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
79/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 88
Value 48
Affordability 67
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $9,256 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$9,256
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
56%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$4,109
Room & Board (off-campus)
$11,802
Books & Supplies
$1,300
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,167
Total Cost of Attendance
$16,807

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $9,103
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $9,690
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,833
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $11,662
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 56% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

42% of students who start here finish within six years, and 81% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
42%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
81%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $32,503 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$32,503
Earning > $25K
54%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$31,000$31,500$32,000$32,500$32,5006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs
What this means: Solid return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$3.5 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 866 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 52% are the first in their family to go to college, and 54% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
866
Part-Time
54%
First-Generation
52%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Black 52.4% 454
White 39.3% 340
Other 3.5% 30
Hispanic 3.4% 29
International 0.4% 3
Asian 0.2% 2
Black: 52.4% (454 students)White: 39.3% (340 students)Other: 3.5% (30 students)Hispanic: 3.4% (29 students)International: 0.4% (3 students)Asian: 0.2% (2 students)Total866

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Fringe Minden, Louisiana
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
35% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Predominantly Black Institution (PBI)

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Mechanics & Repair graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College offers a varied set of programs: 13 distinct programs across 9 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

Faculty & Resources

There are 16 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
16:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$5,895
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$44,942
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

36 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 36 100% $44,942

Pros & Cons of Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; working adults or students needing part-time study options.

Frequently Asked Questions about Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College

The questions families ask most about Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College hard to get into?
Not especially. Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College cost?
Budget around $9,256 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $32,503 a year against a net price of $9,256, about 3.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College known for?
Mostly Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Practical Nursing, Ground Transportation. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College graduates earn?
About $32,503 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College accredited?
Yes. Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education.
How many students attend Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College?
866 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College?
42% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College located?
Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College is located in Minden, Louisiana.
What programs does Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College offer?
13 different programs, most commonly Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians, Practical Nursing, Ground Transportation. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Northwest Louisiana Technical Community College?
16 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.