Private Nonprofit Associate Strong 80/100

Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

East Syracuse, New York

About Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital

Thinking about Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital, a college in New York where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital is a private nonprofit institution offering associate degrees based in East Syracuse, New York. It enrolls 173 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
77.8%
Graduation
73.2%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$83,972
Enrollment
173
Student : Faculty
5:1

Accreditor Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
80/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 98
Value —
Affordability 43
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital admits 77.8% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
77.8%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↓ 4.0 pts since 2019
44%201971.9%202048.6%202152.9%202240%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
34%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
58%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$21,213
Room & Board (off-campus)
$17,675
Books & Supplies
$2,210
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$6,315

Application fee: $30 (one-time, due at submission)


Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$8,750
25% percentile
$15,250
Median percentile
$19,500
75% percentile
$20,762
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $13,000 ↓ $2,250
No Pell $11,750 ↓ $3,500
Dependent students $8,711 ↓ $6,539
Independent students $16,082 ↑ $832
Female students $12,000 ↓ $3,250
Male students $16,000 ↑ $750
Pell recipients: 16.8% (2,557 students)No Pell: 15.2% (2,311 students)Dependent students: 11.2% (1,713 students)Independent students: 20.7% (3,163 students)Female students: 15.5% (2,360 students)Male students: 20.6% (3,147 students)Overall Median$15,250
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,875, less than completers ($15,250), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

73% of students who start here finish within six years, and 92% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
73%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
92%
Returning for their second year
What this means: High first-year retention. Students who arrive tend to stay.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $83,972 a year, well above the national median. Strong earnings, though the field studied drives much of that. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$83,972
Earning > $25K
84%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$60,000$65,000$75,000$80,000$85,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 9.4 pts across 6 years
73.9%1yr77.2%3yr83.2%5yr83.3%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 83% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 173 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 34% are the first in their family to go to college, and 79% study part-time, so many are working alongside classes.

Total Enrolled
173
Part-Time
79%
First-Generation
34%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 68.2% 118
Black 8.1% 14
Other 6.9% 12
Hispanic 4.1% 7
Asian 3.5% 6
White: 68.2% (118 students)Black: 8.1% (14 students)Other: 6.9% (12 students)Hispanic: 4.1% (7 students)Asian: 3.5% (6 students)Total173

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb East Syracuse, New York
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
48% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 5 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
5:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$83,357
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

14 instructional faculty across 3 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Associate Professors 5 36% $86,329
Assistant Professors 8 57% $82,920
Instructors 1 7% $71,997

Pros & Cons of Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Above-average graduation rate
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Mostly part-time student body, less full-time campus feel
Best for: Based on the data, Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; working adults or students needing part-time study options; students prioritizing post-graduation earnings.

Frequently Asked Questions about Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital

The questions families ask most about Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital hard to get into?
Not especially. Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 77.8%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital?
77.8% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital known for?
Mostly Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital graduates earn?
About $83,972 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital accredited?
Yes. Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing.
How many students attend Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital?
173 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital?
73% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital located?
Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital is located in East Syracuse, New York.
What programs does Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Pomeroy College of Nursing at Crouse Hospital?
5 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.