Private Nonprofit Bachelor's Good 65/100

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Brooklyn, New York

About Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel

Thinking about Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel, a college in New York where more students graduate in Theology than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel is a private nonprofit institution offering bachelor's degrees based in Brooklyn, New York. It enrolls 232 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
64.7%
Net Price
$32,594
Median Earnings (10yr)
—
Enrollment
232
Student : Faculty
15:1

Accreditor Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools
Academic Calendar Trimester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
65/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes 49
Value —
Affordability 52
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $32,594 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$32,594
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
85%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$22,300
Room & Board (on-campus)
$3,000
Room & Board (off-campus)
$19,000
Books & Supplies
$350
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,000
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,000
Total Cost of Attendance
$41,283
What this means: Aid reaches the majority of students: 85% receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the actual cost to you is likely far below the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

65% of students who start here finish within six years, and 57% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
65%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
57%
Returning for their second year

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 232 students, an intimate, close-knit community.

Total Enrolled
232
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
—

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 100.0% 232
White: 100.0% (232 students)Total232

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Brooklyn, New York
Housing
Partly residential 35 beds available
Adult Learners
2% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Trimester scheduling structure
Designation
Men's college
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel offers a focused set of programs: 1 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 15 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
15:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$4.9M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$26,378
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Pros & Cons of Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Reasonable class sizes
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • No graduate programs offered at this institution
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel

The questions families ask most about Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

How much does Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel cost?
Budget around $32,594 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel known for?
Mostly Theology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel accredited?
Yes. Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel is accredited by the Association of Advanced Rabbinical and Talmudic Schools.
How many students attend Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel?
232 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel?
65% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel located?
Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel is located in Brooklyn, New York.
What programs does Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Theology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Rabbinical College of Ohr Shimon Yisroel?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.