Vet Tech Institute is a private for-profit institution offering associate degrees based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It enrolls 183 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.
AccreditorAccrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges
Academic CalendarSemester
How It Measures Up
These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.
Strong
71/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes83
Value29
Affordability52
Selectivity—
Admissions & Acceptance Rate
Vet Tech Institute admits 77.6% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.
Acceptance Rate
77.6%
Easy
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test PolicyTest OptionalApplicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.
Cost & Financial Aid
Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $16,531 a year on average, it sits below what private for-profit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.
Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.
Tuition & Fees
$17,320
Room & Board (off-campus)
$5,400
Books & Supplies
$931
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$1,860
Total Cost of Attendance
$24,268
Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)
Net Price by Family Income
Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.
Under $30,000
$11,106
$30,001 – $48,000
$12,553
$48,001 – $75,000
$14,929
$75,001 – $110,000
$20,828
Over $110,000
$22,880
Debt at Graduation
Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.
$2,21010%percentile
$5,49325%percentile
$13,623Medianpercentile
$13,62575%percentile
$21,75390%percentile
Median Debt by Student Type
Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.
GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $11,748
↓ $1,875
No Pell $13,440
↓ $183
Dependent students $12,000
↓ $1,623
Independent students $19,324
↑ $5,701
Female students $12,338
↓ $1,285
Male students $11,969
↓ $1,654
Worth knowing:
Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $4,662, less than completers ($13,623), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.
Graduation Rate & Retention
75% of students who start here finish within six years, and 78% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.
6-Year Graduation Rate
75%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
78%
Returning for their second year
After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes
Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $34,583 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$34,583
Earning > $25K
60%
10 yrs after entry
Earnings Growth After Graduation
Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.
Earnings by Demographic
Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.
By Family Income at Entry
Family income (lowest third)
$23,500
Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (middle third)
$26,700
Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.
Family income (highest third)
$33,600
Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.
Loan Repayment Progression
Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.
Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑
7.7 pts
across 6 years
What this signals:
Strong. 75% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.
Who Studies Here
Who you would actually be sitting next to: 183 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 42% are the first in their family to go to college.
Total Enrolled
183
Part-Time
0%
First-Generation
42%
Race & Ethnicity Breakdown
Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.
GroupShareStudents
White 85.8%157
Black 5.5%10
Other 4.4%8
Hispanic 1.6%3
Asian 1.1%2
Student Life & Campus Culture
Where students live, learn, and connect at Vet Tech Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.
Setting
Large CityPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Housing
Commuter campusNo on-campus housing
Adult Learners
11%of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIAathletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semesterscheduling structure
What You Can Study
Vet Tech Institute offers
a focused set of programs:
1 distinct programs across
1 major.
Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings.
Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.
For-profit institution, verify accreditation and outcomes carefully
Best for:
Based on the data, Vet Tech Institute is a fit for
students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.
Frequently Asked Questions about Vet Tech Institute
The questions families ask most about Vet Tech Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.
Is Vet Tech Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Vet Tech Institute admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 77.6%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Vet Tech Institute?
77.6% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Vet Tech Institute cost?
Budget around $16,531 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Vet Tech Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $34,583 a year against a net price of $16,531, about 2.1 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Vet Tech Institute known for?
Mostly Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Vet Tech Institute graduates earn?
About $34,583 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Vet Tech Institute accredited?
Yes. Vet Tech Institute is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges.
How many students attend Vet Tech Institute?
183 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Vet Tech Institute?
75% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Vet Tech Institute a public or private college?
It is Private For-Profit. Private for-profit, so compare completion and earnings carefully against a public alternative.
Where is Vet Tech Institute located?
Vet Tech Institute is located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
What programs does Vet Tech Institute offer?
1 different programs, most commonly Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Vet Tech Institute?
15 students per instructor. About average, so a mix of seminars and larger lectures. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Related Colleges in Pennsylvania
Other colleges in Pennsylvania share the same applicant pool, regional economy, and academic landscape. Comparing nearby options puts admissions, costs, and outcomes in context, useful when weighing your fit against local alternatives.
Free, data-backed guides to help you decide, built on the same federal data as this profile.
H
How to Build Your College List Pillar
The full process of narrowing from 3,811 US colleges to a shortlist of ~10. Cost, location, size, selectivity, and fit factors that actually predict whether you'll thrive.
What actually makes a college work for first-generation students, the support and aid signals that predict success, and how to find the schools that deliver them using federal data.
How to find the colleges that deliver the strongest return on a STEM degree by weighing earnings outcomes against net cost, rather than chasing the most selective name.
Original data analyses built on the same federal data as this profile. Rankings, outliers, and patterns, no opinions.
American Colleges by the Numbers
One federal dataset, 3,811 colleges. The median school costs $16,296 a year, admits 78% of applicants, and enrolls 1,280 students. The shape of US higher ed.
Higher education data
Net price
College enrollment
Acceptance rate
College ownership
Do Selective Schools Actually Graduate More Students?
Across 1,645 four-year colleges, graduation rates climb steadily with selectivity, from 54% at open-admission schools to 93% at the most exclusive. The gap is real.
Graduation rate
Acceptance rate
Selectivity
Completion
College outcomes
For-Profit Colleges Charge the Most and Pay the Least
For-profit colleges post the highest median net price of any sector and the lowest graduate earnings. They cost more than private nonprofits and pay less than publics.
For-profit colleges
Net price
Earnings
College ROI
College ownership
Continue Exploring
Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.