Private Nonprofit Graduate Strong 75/100

Saint Peter's University

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Jersey City, New Jersey

About Saint Peter's University

Thinking about Saint Peter's University, a college in New Jersey where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Saint Peter's University is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Jersey City, New Jersey. It enrolls 2,135 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
90.3%
Graduation
52.1%
Net Price
$12,199
Median Earnings (10yr)
$57,815
Enrollment
2,135
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Strong
75/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 43
Value 90
Affordability 86
Selectivity 31

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Saint Peter's University admits 90.3% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
90.3%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Saint Peter's University is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 9.6 pts since 2019
81%201984.6%202092.8%202188.8%202290.5%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $12,199 a year on average, it sits below what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. That still leaves most families a gap to cover, but a manageable one. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$12,199
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
52%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
29%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$42,552
Room & Board (on-campus)
$17,794
Room & Board (off-campus)
$7,500
Books & Supplies
$1,000
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$1,356
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$2,900
Total Cost of Attendance
$50,272

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $10,783
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $10,643
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $9,952
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $13,569
  • Over $110,000
    $21,829

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,146
10% percentile
$7,225
25% percentile
$20,500
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$37,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $15,550 ↓ $4,950
No Pell $18,750 ↓ $1,750
Dependent students $16,500 ↓ $4,000
Independent students $15,750 ↓ $4,750
Female students $17,500 ↓ $3,000
Male students $14,250 ↓ $6,250
Pell recipients: 15.8% (3,243 students)No Pell: 19.1% (3,910 students)Dependent students: 16.8% (3,441 students)Independent students: 16.0% (3,285 students)Female students: 17.8% (3,650 students)Male students: 14.5% (2,972 students)Overall Median$20,500
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($20,500), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

52% of students who start here finish within six years, and 72% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
52%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
72%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $57,815 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$57,815
Earning > $25K
79%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,000$45,000$50,000$55,000$60,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$47,400

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$54,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$46,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$50,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$57,500

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $6,900, about 13% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 18.0 pts across 6 years
54.1%1yr61.6%3yr67%5yr72.2%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 72% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,135 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 48% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
2,135
Part-Time
4%
First-Generation
48%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Hispanic 42.9% 916
Black 17.6% 375
White 15.6% 332
Asian 7.0% 149
International 6.1% 130
Other 0.3% 7
Hispanic: 42.9% (916 students)Black: 17.6% (375 students)White: 15.6% (332 students)Asian: 7.0% (149 students)International: 6.1% (130 students)Other: 0.3% (7 students)Total2,135

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Saint Peter's University. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Jersey City, New Jersey
Housing
Partly residential 654 beds available
Adult Learners
10% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Education graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Saint Peter's University offers an extensive catalog of programs: 65 distinct programs across 18 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

16 Programs
8 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$89M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$81,882
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

105 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 24 23% $106,679
Associate Professors 39 37% $79,569
Assistant Professors 27 26% $72,063
Instructors 8 8% $64,163
Lecturers 7 7% $67,869

Pros & Cons of Saint Peter's University

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Saint Peter's University is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Below-average net price
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
Best for: Based on the data, Saint Peter's University is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Saint Peter's University

The questions families ask most about Saint Peter's University, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Saint Peter's University hard to get into?
Not especially. Saint Peter's University admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 90.3%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Saint Peter's University?
90.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Saint Peter's University cost?
Budget around $12,199 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Saint Peter's University worth it?
On the numbers, yes: solid return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $57,815 a year against a net price of $12,199, about 4.7 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Saint Peter's University known for?
Mostly Management Sciences, Psychology, Business Administration. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Saint Peter's University graduates earn?
About $57,815 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Saint Peter's University accredited?
Yes. Saint Peter's University is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Saint Peter's University?
2,135 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Saint Peter's University?
52% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Saint Peter's University a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Saint Peter's University located?
Saint Peter's University is located in Jersey City, New Jersey.
What programs does Saint Peter's University offer?
65 different programs, most commonly Management Sciences, Psychology, Business Administration. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Saint Peter's University?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.