Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 62/100

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Madison, New Jersey

About Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus

Thinking about Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus, a college in New Jersey where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Madison, New Jersey. It enrolls 1,990 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
95.2%
Graduation
53.9%
Net Price
$22,829
Median Earnings (10yr)
$57,273
Enrollment
1,990
Student : Faculty
11:1

Accreditor Middle States Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
62/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 61
Value 42
Affordability 48
Selectivity 10

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus admits 95.2% of applicants, which makes it open to most qualified applicants, so admission is unlikely to be the hurdle.

Acceptance Rate
95.2%
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 1.5 pts since 2019
93.8%201986.3%202084.6%202189.1%202295.3%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,829 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,829
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
36%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
55%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$38,004
Room & Board (on-campus)
$16,270
Room & Board (off-campus)
$16,982
Books & Supplies
$1,240
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$5,812
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$8,786
Total Cost of Attendance
$54,204

Application fee: $50 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $12,624
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $14,383
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,154
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $29,052
  • Over $110,000
    $34,331

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$4,750
10% percentile
$8,250
25% percentile
$25,000
Median percentile
$28,000
75% percentile
$36,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $20,000 ↓ $5,000
No Pell $19,000 ↓ $6,000
Dependent students $19,000 ↓ $6,000
Independent students $22,000 ↓ $3,000
Female students $20,768 ↓ $4,232
Male students $17,500 ↓ $7,500
Pell recipients: 16.9% (4,228 students)No Pell: 16.1% (4,016 students)Dependent students: 16.1% (4,016 students)Independent students: 18.6% (4,650 students)Female students: 17.6% (4,390 students)Male students: 14.8% (3,699 students)Overall Median$25,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $9,500, less than completers ($25,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

54% of students who start here finish within six years, and 78% come back after first year. Roughly half finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
54%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
78%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $57,273 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$57,273
Earning > $25K
78%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$44,000$48,000$52,000$55,000$59,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$50,300

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$60,100

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$50,000

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$52,900

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$58,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $9,800, about 16% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 20.1 pts across 6 years
66.1%1yr71.8%3yr77.7%5yr86.2%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 86% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 1,990 students, a mid-sized community. Worth knowing: 43% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
1,990
Part-Time
3%
First-Generation
43%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 47.1% 937
Hispanic 27.1% 539
Black 12.5% 248
Asian 5.0% 100
Other 3.7% 74
International 0.6% 11
White: 47.1% (937 students)Hispanic: 27.1% (539 students)Black: 12.5% (248 students)Asian: 5.0% (100 students)Other: 3.7% (74 students)International: 0.6% (11 students)Total1,990

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Madison, New Jersey
Housing
Strongly residential 1,570 beds for 1,990 students
Adult Learners
3% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Hispanic-Serving Institution (HSI)
Designation
Branch campus

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Health graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus offers an extensive catalog of programs: 49 distinct programs across 18 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

11 Programs
8 Programs
5 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 11 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
11:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$82,180
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

156 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 39 25% $100,795
Associate Professors 48 31% $85,118
Assistant Professors 44 28% $76,424
Instructors 1 1% $70,000
Lecturers 24 15% $57,114

Pros & Cons of Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Accessible admissions for most applicants
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Solid post-graduation earnings
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Below-average completion rate
  • Modest first-year retention
Best for: Based on the data, Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier.

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus

The questions families ask most about Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus hard to get into?
Not especially. Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus admits most qualified applicants, with an acceptance rate of 95.2%. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus?
95.2% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus cost?
Budget around $22,829 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $57,273 a year against a net price of $22,829, about 2.5 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus known for?
Mostly Pharmacy, Counseling Psychology, Psychology. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus graduates earn?
About $57,273 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus accredited?
Yes. Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus?
1,990 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus?
54% finish within six years. That leaves a meaningful share who do not finish on that timeline, so budget for the possibility of a longer run. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus located?
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus is located in Madison, New Jersey.
What programs does Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus offer?
49 different programs, most commonly Pharmacy, Counseling Psychology, Psychology. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus?
11 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.