Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 60/100

Sentara College of Health Sciences

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Chesapeake, Virginia

About Sentara College of Health Sciences

Thinking about Sentara College of Health Sciences, a college in Virginia where more students graduate in Health than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Sentara College of Health Sciences is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Chesapeake, Virginia. It enrolls 242 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
—
Graduation
88.4%
Net Price
—
Median Earnings (10yr)
$77,821
Enrollment
242
Student : Faculty
7:1

Accreditor Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Open / Online), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
60/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Open / Online
Outcomes —
Value —
Affordability 43
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Sentara College of Health Sciences does not report an acceptance rate. Schools that do not publish one are usually open-admission, but confirm with the admissions office before you assume it.

Acceptance Rate
—
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. Sentara College of Health Sciences has not reported one, so ask the financial aid office for a written estimate before comparing it against anywhere else.

Average Net Price
—
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
35%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
55%
Borrowing to attend

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,250
10% percentile
$10,500
25% percentile
$19,450
Median percentile
$23,770
75% percentile
$30,250
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $15,500 ↓ $3,950
No Pell $16,108 ↓ $3,342
Dependent students $15,486 ↓ $3,964
Independent students $16,269 ↓ $3,181
Female students $16,269 ↓ $3,181
Male students $13,487 ↓ $5,963
Pell recipients: 16.6% (3,238 students)No Pell: 17.3% (3,365 students)Dependent students: 16.6% (3,235 students)Independent students: 17.5% (3,398 students)Female students: 17.5% (3,398 students)Male students: 14.5% (2,817 students)Overall Median$19,450
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,029, less than completers ($19,450), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

88% of students who start here finish within six years. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
88%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
—
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $77,821 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$77,821
Earning > $25K
89%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$77,500$78,000$78,500$79,000$79,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 6.1 pts across 6 years
76.1%1yr78.5%3yr77.5%5yr82.1%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 82% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 242 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 37% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
242
Part-Time
2%
First-Generation
37%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 53.7% 130
Black 16.1% 39
Other 9.1% 22
Hispanic 7.4% 18
Asian 6.6% 16
International 6.2% 15
White: 53.7% (130 students)Black: 16.1% (39 students)Other: 9.1% (22 students)Hispanic: 7.4% (18 students)Asian: 6.6% (16 students)International: 6.2% (15 students)Total242

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Sentara College of Health Sciences. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large City Chesapeake, Virginia
Housing
Commuter campus No on-campus housing
Adult Learners
55% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

Sentara College of Health Sciences offers a focused set of programs: 3 distinct programs across 1 major. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 7 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
7:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Avg Faculty Salary
$79,854
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

38 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 3 8% $97,900
Associate Professors 11 29% $84,701
Assistant Professors 18 47% $79,203
Instructors 6 16% $71,074

Pros & Cons of Sentara College of Health Sciences

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Sentara College of Health Sciences is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Narrow program catalog compared to mid-sized peers
Best for: Based on the data, Sentara College of Health Sciences is a fit for students prioritizing post-graduation earnings; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Sentara College of Health Sciences

The questions families ask most about Sentara College of Health Sciences, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

What is Sentara College of Health Sciences known for?
Mostly Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Sentara College of Health Sciences graduates earn?
About $77,821 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Sentara College of Health Sciences accredited?
Yes. Sentara College of Health Sciences is accredited by the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools.
How many students attend Sentara College of Health Sciences?
242 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Sentara College of Health Sciences?
88% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Sentara College of Health Sciences a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Sentara College of Health Sciences located?
Sentara College of Health Sciences is located in Chesapeake, Virginia.
What programs does Sentara College of Health Sciences offer?
3 different programs, most commonly Nursing, Allied Health Diagnostic, Nursing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Sentara College of Health Sciences?
7 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.