Public Associate Good 60/100

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Albuquerque, New Mexico

About Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

Thinking about Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, a college in New Mexico where more students graduate in Liberal Arts than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is a public institution offering associate degrees based in Albuquerque, New Mexico. It enrolls 215 students (a very small, intimate student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
Open
Graduation
19.8%
Net Price
$5,181
Median Earnings (10yr)
$27,660
Enrollment
215
Student : Faculty
7:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Trimester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (2-Year), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
60/100
UCD Score · 2-Year
Outcomes 7
Value 71
Affordability 76
Selectivity —

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

As a two-year college, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute admits essentially everyone who qualifies, so plan around cost and completion instead of your odds of getting in.

Acceptance Rate
Open
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $5,181 a year on average, it sits well below what public colleges charge nationally. At that level cost is rarely the reason to rule a college out. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$5,181
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
48%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
0%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$1,095
Room & Board (on-campus)
$675
Room & Board (off-campus)
$13,500
Books & Supplies
$1,545
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$7,404
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$7,404
Total Cost of Attendance
$12,125

Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $4,302
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $5,900
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $7,418
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $2,850
What this means: Aid reaches a meaningful share of the student body: 48% of students receive Pell grants. If your family qualifies for Pell, the real cost to you could be substantially lower than the average.

Graduation Rate & Retention

20% of students who start here finish within six years, and 51% come back after first year. Most students who start here do not finish. That is the single most important number on this page. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
20%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
51%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Lower than typical completion. Worth asking the school how they support students who fall behind.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $27,660 a year, below the national median. Weigh that against the cost above before taking on debt here. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$27,660
Earning > $25K
47%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$22,000$23,000$25,000$27,000$28,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$23,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$27,400

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.

What this means: Strong return on investment. Every dollar of net annual cost is matched by ~$5.3 of median earnings 10 years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 215 students, an intimate, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 44% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
215
Part-Time
23%
First-Generation
44%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
Other 100.0% 215
Other: 100.0% (215 students)Total215

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Albuquerque, New Mexico
Housing
Mostly residential 109 beds on campus
Adult Learners
43% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NAIA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Trimester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Engineering Tech graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute offers a varied set of programs: 12 distinct programs across 10 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

1 Program
1 Program
3 Programs
1 Program
1 Program
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 7 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
7:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Instruction / Student
$27,889
Annual instructional spending per enrolled student
Avg Faculty Salary
$63,263
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

15 instructional faculty across 1 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Instructors 15 100% $63,263

Pros & Cons of Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Very affordable net price after aid
  • Open admissions
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
  • Wide reach of need-based federal aid
  • First-gen-friendly student body
CONS
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Low completion rate, many students don't graduate within six years
  • First-year retention is below typical
  • Below-average post-graduation earnings
Best for: Based on the data, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is a fit for students who want a clear path to start college without a competitive admissions barrier; families focused on keeping net cost low; students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute

The questions families ask most about Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute hard to get into?
Not especially. Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute admits most qualified applicants, and reports no competitive acceptance rate. Plan around cost and whether students finish, not your odds of getting in.
What is the acceptance rate at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?
No acceptance rate is reported, which for a college like this normally means admission is open to anyone meeting the basic requirements. Confirm with the admissions office rather than assuming it.
How much does Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute cost?
Budget around $5,181 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute worth it?
On the numbers, yes: strong return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $27,660 a year against a net price of $5,181, about 5.3 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute known for?
Mostly Liberal Arts, Drafting/Design Engineering Tech, Teacher Education (K-12). Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute graduates earn?
About $27,660 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute accredited?
Yes. Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?
215 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?
20% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute a public or private college?
It is Public. Public, so in-state students usually pay materially less than everyone else.
Where is Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute located?
Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute is located in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
What programs does Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute offer?
12 different programs, most commonly Liberal Arts, Drafting/Design Engineering Tech, Teacher Education (K-12). If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute?
7 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.