Private Nonprofit Graduate Fair 51/100

Sterling College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Sterling, Kansas

About Sterling College

Thinking about Sterling College, a college in Kansas where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Sterling College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Sterling, Kansas. It enrolls 538 students (a small, tight-knit student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
48.2%
Graduation
48%
Net Price
$22,371
Median Earnings (10yr)
$45,846
Enrollment
538
Student : Faculty
9:1

Accreditor Higher Learning Commission
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Fair
51/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 12
Value 22
Affordability 50
Selectivity 57

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Sterling College admits 48.2% of applicants, which makes it genuinely competitive, so your application needs to be strong.

Acceptance Rate
48.2%
Selective
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Not Considered Standardized test scores are not used in admissions decisions.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Sterling College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Becoming less selective ↑ 13.1 pts since 2019
39.9%201936.9%202047.4%202161.1%202253%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $22,371 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$22,371
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
37%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
49%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$33,700
Room & Board (on-campus)
$9,586
Room & Board (off-campus)
$9,241
Books & Supplies
$1,382
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$4,500
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$4,500
Total Cost of Attendance
$47,185

Application fee: $25 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $19,068
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $19,236
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $21,975
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $23,525
  • Over $110,000
    $26,602

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$3,174
10% percentile
$5,500
25% percentile
$24,625
Median percentile
$25,000
75% percentile
$32,400
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $12,000 ↓ $12,625
No Pell $12,000 ↓ $12,625
Dependent students $13,000 ↓ $11,625
Independent students $9,344 ↓ $15,281
Female students $14,000 ↓ $10,625
Male students $11,375 ↓ $13,250
Pell recipients: 16.7% (4,120 students)No Pell: 16.7% (4,120 students)Dependent students: 18.1% (4,464 students)Independent students: 13.0% (3,208 students)Female students: 19.5% (4,807 students)Male students: 15.9% (3,906 students)Overall Median$24,625
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $8,000, less than completers ($24,625), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

48% of students who start here finish within six years, and 55% come back after first year. Fewer than half finish in six years. Ask what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
48%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
55%
Returning for their second year

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $45,846 a year, close to the national median. Typical for most colleges, so what you study will matter more than where. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$45,846
Earning > $25K
74%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$40,000$42,000$43,000$45,000$47,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$29,600

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$47,200

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$43,100

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$37,400

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$42,200

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $17,600, about 37% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 10.4 pts across 6 years
73%1yr78.8%3yr82.4%5yr83.3%7yr
What this signals: Strong. 83% of graduates are actively reducing their debt seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 538 students, a small, close-knit community. Worth knowing: 34% are the first in their family to go to college.

Total Enrolled
538
Part-Time
9%
First-Generation
34%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 52.0% 280
Hispanic 17.5% 94
International 11.3% 61
Black 9.7% 52
Other 6.5% 35
Asian 0.6% 3
White: 52.0% (280 students)Hispanic: 17.5% (94 students)International: 11.3% (61 students)Black: 9.7% (52 students)Other: 6.5% (35 students)Asian: 0.6% (3 students)Total538

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Sterling College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Rural: Remote Sterling, Kansas
Housing
Strongly residential 635 beds for 538 students
Adult Learners
11% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Recreation & Fitness graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Sterling College offers a varied set of programs: 27 distinct programs across 14 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
1 Program
3 Programs
2 Programs
1 Program
3 Programs

Faculty & Resources

There are 9 students for every instructor here: small classes, and staff who are likely to know your name.

Student : Faculty
9:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$33M
Modest endowment
Avg Faculty Salary
$45,775
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

46 instructional faculty across 4 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 4 9% $52,575
Associate Professors 9 20% $46,511
Assistant Professors 32 70% $44,990
Instructors 1 2% $37,082

Pros & Cons of Sterling College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Sterling College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Tight-knit, close community feel
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • Selective admissions, solid academic profile expected
  • Fewer clubs, activities, and social options
  • Below-average completion rate
  • First-year retention is below typical
Best for: Based on the data, Sterling College is a fit for students who thrive in small, close-knit environments.

Frequently Asked Questions about Sterling College

The questions families ask most about Sterling College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Sterling College hard to get into?
Sterling College is selective but not extremely competitive. Its acceptance rate is 48.2%. Strong academic credentials and a thoughtful application materially improve your odds.
What is the acceptance rate at Sterling College?
48.2% of applicants are admitted. Around half get in, so a solid application has a real chance. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Sterling College cost?
Budget around $22,371 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Sterling College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $45,846 a year against a net price of $22,371, about 2.0 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Sterling College known for?
Mostly Kinesiology, Criminal Justice, Business & Management, Other. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Sterling College graduates earn?
About $45,846 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Sterling College accredited?
Yes. Sterling College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.
How many students attend Sterling College?
538 students. Small enough that you will recognize faces across campus, and small enough that course choice can be limited. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Sterling College?
48% finish within six years. That means most students do not finish in six years. Ask the school directly what support exists for students who fall behind. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Sterling College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Sterling College located?
Sterling College is located in Sterling, Kansas.
What programs does Sterling College offer?
27 different programs, most commonly Kinesiology, Criminal Justice, Business & Management, Other. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Sterling College?
9 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.