Private Nonprofit Graduate Good 66/100

Stonehill College

See admissions data, costs, student outcomes, and academic programs, all verified from official US government sources.

Compare This College

Easton, Massachusetts

About Stonehill College

Thinking about Stonehill College, a college in Massachusetts where more students graduate in Business than anything else? The four things worth knowing are what it actually costs after aid, whether you would get in, whether students finish, and what they earn after they do.

Stonehill College is a private nonprofit institution offering graduate degrees based in Easton, Massachusetts. It enrolls 2,528 students (a mid-sized student body), according to IPEDS 2023-24 data. Every figure on this page is reported by the federal government, not supplied by the college, so it can be compared like for like against anywhere else you are looking.

Acceptance
66.3%
Graduation
79.6%
Net Price
$33,016
Median Earnings (10yr)
$77,745
Enrollment
2,528
Student : Faculty
12:1

Accreditor New England Commission on Higher Education
Academic Calendar Semester

How It Measures Up

These four scores answer one question: compared with similar colleges, is this one worth the money? Each runs 0 to 100 and is judged only against its peer group (4-Year Selective), so a community college is never marked down for not being Harvard. Everything is computed from federal data. Nobody can pay to move a score, and a pillar with missing data is left unscored rather than guessed.

Good
66/100
UCD Score · 4-Year Selective
Outcomes 81
Value 36
Affordability 11
Selectivity 67

Admissions & Acceptance Rate

Stonehill College admits 66.3% of applicants, which makes it moderately selective, and realistic if you meet the academic profile.

Acceptance Rate
66.3%
Moderate
SAT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
ACT Range (25th–75th)
—
Not reported
Test Policy Test Optional Applicants choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores.

5-Year Admission Trend

Acceptance rate over the last five admission cycles. The trend tells you whether Stonehill College is getting harder, easier, or staying about the same.

Stable ↑ 4.9 pts since 2019
67.7%201969%202072%202173.4%202272.6%2023

Cost & Financial Aid

Ignore the sticker price. What matters is the net price, which is what a typical family pays here after grants and scholarships come off. At $33,016 a year on average, it sits in line with what private nonprofit colleges charge nationally. Plan for the gap between that and what you can pay without borrowing. Figures are College Scorecard 2023-24.

The average hides a wide spread by household income, so it is worth estimating what a family at your income would actually pay before treating this as the price.

Average Net Price
$33,016
Per year, after typical aid
Receive Pell Grants
17%
Need-based federal aid
Receive Federal Loans
62%
Borrowing to attend

Full Cost Breakdown

Published cost of attendance, the sticker price before grants and scholarships. Most students underestimate room & board and other expenses.

Tuition & Fees
$57,490
Room & Board (on-campus)
$16,120
Room & Board (off-campus)
$14,830
Books & Supplies
$893
Other Expenses (on-campus)
$3,275
Other Expenses (off-campus)
$3,082
Total Cost of Attendance
$72,714

Application fee: $60 (one-time, due at submission)


Net Price by Family Income

Aid is need-based, so net price varies by family income. Here's what each bracket typically pays after grants and scholarships.

  • Under $30,000
    $23,605
  • $30,001 – $48,000
    $25,053
  • $48,001 – $75,000
    $26,357
  • $75,001 – $110,000
    $31,059
  • Over $110,000
    $37,147

Debt at Graduation

Cumulative federal-loan debt across the full borrowing distribution. The 10th and 90th percentiles bracket the typical range; the median sits in the middle.

$5,500
10% percentile
$16,588
25% percentile
$25,000
Median percentile
$27,000
75% percentile
$27,000
90% percentile

Median Debt by Student Type

Median federal-loan debt at graduation broken down by demographic. Each slice's size is proportional to the dollar amount that group typically borrows.

GroupDebtvs Median
Pell recipients $25,000 —
No Pell $23,000 ↓ $2,000
Female students $23,500 ↓ $1,500
Male students $23,250 ↓ $1,750
Pell recipients: 26.4% (6,596 students)No Pell: 24.3% (6,069 students)Female students: 24.8% (6,201 students)Male students: 24.5% (6,135 students)Overall Median$25,000
Worth knowing: Students who don't finish leave with a median debt of $6,805, less than completers ($25,000), but still a meaningful obligation without a degree in hand.

Graduation Rate & Retention

80% of students who start here finish within six years, and 85% come back after first year. Most people who start here leave with the degree they came for. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Completion and earnings carry the most weight in this college's score, and how the UCD Score weighs each measure sets out exactly how they are combined.

6-Year Graduation Rate
80%
Of students who graduate within six years
First-Year Retention
85%
Returning for their second year
What this means: Strong completion signals. Most students who start, finish.

After Graduation: Earnings & Outcomes

Ten years after starting here, the median student earns $77,745 a year, above the national median. That is a healthy return for most cost levels. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.

Median Earnings (10 yrs)
$77,745
Earning > $25K
92%
10 yrs after entry

Earnings Growth After Graduation

Median annual earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after students first enrolled.

$61,000$66,000$71,000$75,000$80,0006 yrs8 yrs10 yrs

Earnings by Demographic

Mean annual earnings 10 years after entry, segmented by demographic. Reveals gaps the headline median can't show.

By Gender

Female graduates
$62,100

Median earnings for female grads ten years after first enrolling here.

Male graduates
$73,300

Median earnings for male grads ten years after first enrolling here.


By Family Income at Entry

Family income (lowest third)
$65,500

Earnings of grads from the bottom-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (middle third)
$63,100

Earnings of grads from the middle-third of family incomes at entry.

Family income (highest third)
$67,900

Earnings of grads from the top-third of family incomes at entry.

The gender gap: Male graduates earn $11,200, about 15% more than female graduates ten years out. The gap reflects industry mix, role choice, and structural pay differences that exist across most US colleges.

Loan Repayment Progression

Share of completer-cohort borrowers paying down at least $1 of principal at the 1-, 3-, 5-, and 7-year mark. Climbing rates show graduates settling into careers and managing debt; flat or declining rates are a warning.

Climbing: graduates increasingly paying down debt ↑ 8.8 pts across 6 years
84.6%1yr87.8%3yr89.2%5yr93.4%7yr
What this signals: Excellent. 93% of graduates were paying down at least $1 of principal seven years out.

Who Studies Here

Who you would actually be sitting next to: 2,528 students, a mid-sized community.

Total Enrolled
2,528
Part-Time
1%
First-Generation
16%

Race & Ethnicity Breakdown

Undergraduate student body composition reported to the US Department of Education.

GroupShareStudents
White 75.8% 1,917
Hispanic 7.8% 197
Black 5.6% 142
Other 3.3% 84
Asian 2.7% 67
International 2.5% 64
White: 75.8% (1,917 students)Hispanic: 7.8% (197 students)Black: 5.6% (142 students)Other: 3.3% (84 students)Asian: 2.7% (67 students)International: 2.5% (64 students)Total2,528

Student Life & Campus Culture

Where students live, learn, and connect at Stonehill College. The campus setting, housing profile, and signals that shape day-to-day life here.

Setting
Large Suburb Easton, Massachusetts
Housing
Strongly residential 2,180 beds for 2,528 students
Adult Learners
1% of students are 25 or older
Athletics
NCAA athletic-conference member
Academic Calendar
Semester scheduling structure
Designation
Religiously affiliated

What You Can Study

After that comes the national picture for Social Sciences graduates, which shows what the field pays across every college rather than just this one.

Stonehill College offers an extensive catalog of programs: 43 distinct programs across 20 majors. Below are its strongest majors, each with flagship programs and typical earnings. Open a major to explore it in depth, or browse the full program catalog.

6 Programs
3 Programs
2 Programs
2 Programs
3 Programs
1 Program

Faculty & Resources

There are 12 students for every instructor here: about average, so expect a mix of small seminars and big lectures.

Student : Faculty
12:1
Students per instructional faculty member
Endowment
$399M
Solid financial position
Avg Faculty Salary
$94,452
9-month equivalent across all ranks

Faculty by Rank

162 instructional faculty across 5 ranks. The rank mix shows how many senior faculty are teaching versus contingent or junior staff, with average salary equated to a 9-month contract.

Rank Faculty Count Share Avg Salary
Full Professors 53 33% $113,934
Associate Professors 62 38% $91,860
Assistant Professors 44 27% $77,810
Instructors 2 1% $57,055
Lecturers 1 1% $29,581

Pros & Cons of Stonehill College

No college is right for everyone. Here is where Stonehill College is likely to suit you and where it may not, based on the same figures shown above.

Read against a single profile these cut both ways, which is why it helps to put two colleges side by side on the same measures rather than judging one in isolation.

PROS
  • Small classes (low student-faculty ratio)
  • Strong six-year graduation rate
  • Above-average post-graduation earnings
CONS
  • Above-average net price
  • High published cost of attendance before aid
  • Predominantly serves middle- and upper-income families
Best for: Based on the data, Stonehill College is a fit for students prioritizing post-graduation earnings.

Frequently Asked Questions about Stonehill College

The questions families ask most about Stonehill College, answered straight from the federal data rather than from the college's own marketing.

Is Stonehill College hard to get into?
Admissions at Stonehill College are moderately competitive. The acceptance rate is 66.3%, so most applicants who meet the academic minimums are admitted.
What is the acceptance rate at Stonehill College?
66.3% of applicants are admitted. Most applicants who meet the basic requirements are admitted. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
How much does Stonehill College cost?
Budget around $33,016 a year. That is the net price, what families typically pay once grants and scholarships come off, not the sticker price. Your own figure depends on household income, so treat this as a midpoint rather than a quote. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Stonehill College worth it?
On the numbers, yes: moderate return on investment. Ten years in, the median graduate earns $77,745 a year against a net price of $33,016, about 2.4 dollars of earnings for every dollar of annual cost. That ratio ignores whether you finish and what you study, which matter just as much. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
What is Stonehill College known for?
Mostly Psychology, Criminology, Marketing. Those are the fields where it awards the most degrees, which is a better guide to where the teaching strength sits than any reputation ranking. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What do Stonehill College graduates earn?
About $77,745 a year, measured ten years after students first enrolled. Half earn more and half earn less, and what you study moves that figure far more than where you study. Source: College Scorecard 2023-24.
Is Stonehill College accredited?
Yes. Stonehill College is accredited by the New England Commission on Higher Education.
How many students attend Stonehill College?
2,528 students. Big enough for a wide course catalogue without feeling anonymous. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
What is the graduation rate at Stonehill College?
80% finish within six years. Most people who start here graduate, which is the signal you want. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.
Is Stonehill College a public or private college?
It is Private Nonprofit. Private nonprofit, so the sticker price is higher but institutional aid is often larger too.
Where is Stonehill College located?
Stonehill College is located in Easton, Massachusetts.
What programs does Stonehill College offer?
43 different programs, most commonly Psychology, Criminology, Marketing. If the subject you want is not among them, check the full list before applying rather than assuming it is offered.
What is the student-to-faculty ratio at Stonehill College?
12 students per instructor. Low enough that staff are likely to know who you are. Source: IPEDS 2023-24.

Continue Exploring

Browse our full directory: every college, major, program, and career we track, all built from verified government data.